Baking Powder Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I've used this recipe over and over, we love the biscuits. They work great for biscuits and gravy or strawberry shortcake. So easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvia Blew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
We have a cooking program in our school and we made this recipe because it only calls for oil, not butter, or shortening. The only really bad thing about this recipe is that the biscuits come out really salty. Next time we will use only half of the original amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My go to biscuit recipe from now on. Simple. Quick. Good flavor and texture. No more chemical laden biscuit mix! Will keep some mixed up less the milk for even quicker breakfasts and recipes calling for biscuit mix :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa A Mayer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was great I subbed sugar for salt it had a sweet taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Great recipe. I brushed butter over the tops near the end and let them bake a couple extra minutes to get them lightly browned on top. These biscuits are really easy and fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I don't usually review recipes but I was impressed with this one. I reduced the salt by half and added a teaspoon of baking soda to go with the buttermilk. I used olive oil as a healthier choice and added an egg to the liquid. The dough was soft and I left it marbled. To roll it out I sprinkled flour on top and it was easy to work with. The biscuits were light, soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powassan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good, easy. The only change I made was I used powdered buttermilk ( 2 tbls + 2 tsp buttermilk powder and 2/3 cup of water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've made these twice now. The first time I made them as drop biscuits, yielding 9, and cooked them in the toaster oven. The did not brown and were very, very crumbly. The second time I added 1 T. sugar and made cut biscuits, yielding 7 biscuits, brushed the tops with an egg wash, and baked in the conventional oven. They were better but still crumbly. I lost my recipe for biscuits using oil so thought I'd try this recipe. I will continue to search for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was at a woman's group this morning and I brought in the Baking Powder Biscuits made with the oil. The ladies all raved how soft and light and fluffy they were. They were a hit and asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States