Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
My husband is the biggest kid/picky eater out there. The first time I made these, they were a bit dry. I always used half a recipie, cuz it's just the two of us until our daughter gets older. Well, I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. It was just the kick it needed! Heather Adam Austin, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I couldn't think of a faster, easier way to make light and fluffy biscuits. I even substitited margarine for shortening and they were still perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I used butter-flavor crisco and buttermilk instead of milk. These were surprisingly tender but a little bland. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was by far, the absolute best biscuit that I have ever had. It was light and airy. It has a wonderful delicate flavor and my half loved them as well. This is a keeper. Oh, and did I mention it was super easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Recipe is great, however I did add some cinnimon and a little bit of sugar just to give it some added taste, as I used this for a breakfast biscuit one day. Very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Great biscuits that are easy to make. I'm glad to find a good biscuit recipe that does not call for buttermilk--which I never have. Also, my son can't tolerate milk so I used soy milk and they turned out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Good flavor but kinda dry. Had a nice appearance and smelled good, the kids did not care for them because they were so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
i dont know what went wrong but mine taste like pretzels! i have yet to make edible biscuits from any recipe that i've tried so dont let this discourage anyone from giving it a try. they are simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
SO-SO, good in a pinch because they're easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
MMMMmmm. Biscuits just like I had as a kid. I followed the recipe exactly (except I used slightly less than 1 tablespoon of baking powder). I was very happy with how they turned out. For people who like moist biscuits, you might need to add slightly more shortening and milk because this recipe makes traditional-style baking powder biscuits which are, by nature, fairly airy and dry. I have also added 1 tablespoon of italian herbs (anything will do, basil, oregano, thyme) and mixed it in with the flour before adding the shortening. It gave these biscuits a lovely herbed taste! Will make these simple and delicious biscuits again and again. (My husband raved about them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States