Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe, but i admit it do some changes to get more flavour! by changing the shortening to butter, you get a much richer taste. Also, I find it only takes about 10min prep time, not 30 as mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Good dough, plain in flavor. I was looking for a lighter fluffy biscuit type dumpling and used this recipe. Dropped the dough into my leftover chicken soup and boiled for about twenty minutes covered (I like BIG dumplings) and about another ten uncovered. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very easy and very tasty. My husband asks for these every week! I put them in a square baking dish and they rise beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernsara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I have searched high and low for a Baking Powder Biscuit recipe for two years. I remember my mom making them when I was a kid. This one is great!! This is so much easier than the rolled biscuits. A really cool variation is to add 1 tsp of orange flavoring with milk and egg then to "dry" ingredients to this and enjoy with coffee or tea and some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Great biscuits and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I thought they were only ok. i used half butter (salted), half shortening. The flavor was ok. It was a very wet dough as far as biscuit dough goes. As a result it did not produce a flaky biscuit and the appearance was not very attractive, even for a drop biscuit. Ok though for so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We call these "pay day" biscuits at our house because as it gets closer to pay day (read: grocery shopping) we run out of other breads, but we alwayd have these ingredients on hand. I add grated cheddar cheese to min before adding the milk for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These are great Biscuits- especially when slathered with jelly or honey. I made a double batch so we could have biscuits for breakfast and my kids ate all the extras as a bedtime snack. Great easy recipe. Oh, i did roll them out to ensure they would be a bit more stable for little hands to hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
These were delicious! I added cheese for more flavour! They were 5 stars without the cheese though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJARVIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These were extremely easy to make but they were also extremely dry and bland. I dipped them in syrup and that made them a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States