Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is wonderful, versatile recipe! This is my variation, which has become a family favourite. Replace the shortening with grapeseed oil, add about a tbsp of garlic powder (if desired) and cut cheddar cheese into cubes and incorporate into the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe couldn't be easier, and the biscuits are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Halvorsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really like this recipe because it's so simple. I prepare the dry ingredients in ziploc bags and leave them on the shelf, then when I want to make quick biscuits, I pour a bag into a bowl. Instead of shortening, I use 1/4 cup of margarine and kind of chop it in with a butter knife. Then I mix in the milk and that's it. I spoon the mix into a muffin pan to make it look pretty. Very basic, but a great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlevarnis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Just made these and they are fantastic. I didn't have shortening, so I used Imperial margarine instead. Just like my mom use to make! This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOTOGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent. These are flakey and very easy to make. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good and really easy, and with ingredients that I always have on hand anyway. I have added things to the recipe (cheese, spices) to suit what I am cooking. I also use this recipe for biscuit topping on meat filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made these biscuits and from this 1 experience, I will not use a 450F. degree oven again. I had to open all the windows/doors to get smoke out. I think 425F would have been plenty. I shaped the biscuits to fairly large size, put them on parchment paper as per usual and in 1/2 the cooking time, they were burning and the smoke was horrendous. The paper burned more than the bottoms of the biscuits but just wanted to share this bit of info just to help someone else preventing them going through the same thing. Will definitely try these again though maybe without paper next time to see what happens. I'm sure they're very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great taste! Difficult to cut and spread things on though. Only useful for eating whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were good. I added about 1 tblsp white sugar, just becasue most biscuits usually call for that) and I turned them into cheese biscuits by adding about 3/4 cup grated cheddar. They seemed a little moist, so I added an extra couple tblsp of flour, and they turned out great. I made 6 giant biscuits to go with stew. Perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
If you're looking for flaky, moist biscuits, this is not going to be your go to recipe. I have been searching for a recipe that would result in biscuits like I remember from grade school (always served with beef stew). They were dry and just perfect for soaking up the stew. This recipe is it. I love them. Super simple to throw together (less than 5 minutes). I use my food processor for the entire recipe and it makes for easy cleanup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States