Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were great. I changed the recipe by adding buttermilk instead of regular milk. I also used self rising flour instead of baking powder. I think the salt wasn't necessary after adding the buttermilk so next time it won't be there! Very good recipe! Now I don't have to buy the packaged stuff anymore for buttermilk biscuits. One suggestion to other cooks... don't over work the dough. I think I did because they weren't as light and fluffy as I was expecting. I think I over mixed. My husband didn't seem to mind, he ate all but the two I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdevitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! They are super easy to make and turn out delicious. I substitute margarine for half the shortening and add a bit of sugar, no more than 1/4 cup. Hubby loves them especially when I pair them with something like peachy chicken to sop up the juice. We love them plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Good recipe, I added a little sugar, but the biscuits came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I loved this easy recipe, but I only made it for 6 biscuits since it's just hubby and I. I also used cold butter instead of shortening, since I can't get shotening here in Holland. I patted the dough out and made cut biscuits instead of drop style. I found them flaky and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindylou2u

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
my mom use to make this recipe on sunday mornings. i did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Why have I been making Bisquick biscuits all this time when these are just as easy and taste so much better?? I use butter rather than shortening, and sometimes add 1T of sugar to sweeten them up a bit. Since I live alone, I usually make 1/4 recipe to yield two biscuits; I like them best fresh from the oven so I'd rather make them this way than reheat leftovers later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe, but i admit it do some changes to get more flavour! by changing the shortening to butter, you get a much richer taste. Also, I find it only takes about 10min prep time, not 30 as mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Good dough, plain in flavor. I was looking for a lighter fluffy biscuit type dumpling and used this recipe. Dropped the dough into my leftover chicken soup and boiled for about twenty minutes covered (I like BIG dumplings) and about another ten uncovered. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very easy and very tasty. My husband asks for these every week! I put them in a square baking dish and they rise beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernsara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I have searched high and low for a Baking Powder Biscuit recipe for two years. I remember my mom making them when I was a kid. This one is great!! This is so much easier than the rolled biscuits. A really cool variation is to add 1 tsp of orange flavoring with milk and egg then to "dry" ingredients to this and enjoy with coffee or tea and some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States