Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I added about 3/4 c of shredded cheddar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 Tbsp garlic powder. I also brushed finished biscuits with melted butter. Pretty moist and flavorful that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. I have done this several times and it always turn out great. It's super easy and admits all the variatons you can think of. I have done this savory with cheese and thyme, yumm... And sweet with chocolate chips and dry apricots (super yumm...). If you are looking for a biscuit recipe this is one with less fat than others, but without compromising the final result. I've always used sour milk (milk with a splash of vinegar) or plain yogurt for tender biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is the same recipe my mom used for years. We only had these in Strawberry Shortcake though!!! Growing up, we would get fresh strawberries, slice and sugar them to taste, then Mom would make batch of these biscuits and we'd take them hot out of the oven, tear them to pieces in a bowl, ladle strawberries over them, and douse the whole thing with a little cold milk. I didn't know any other strawberry shortcake existed until I was an adult! I still prefer it this way, although I add whipped cream now....LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jessvigirl
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
A bit bitter but still good ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
These were just "allright". Very easy to assemble, they baked up nicely and had a good texture to them. They were just a little dry and bland. I think they would go better with some gravy rather than plain. Not too bad, but not great either. PS - I used buttermilk in place of the milk since I had some that needed to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These came out tender and rose high. If you don't have a pastry blender to mix the flour/butter mixture, cut the cold butter in bits and mix with small fork till crumbly. Also, don't over mix the dough. Stir till combined and roll out onto lightly floured surface. Roll dough over about a 10-12 times to get smooth and cut rounds with cutter or floured rim glass. I got eight biscuits using this method. If over mixed, they will be tough and not rise as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made many hockey pucks before I found this recipe. I am considered an excellent cook just this one item I could not bake. I do think they are bland I would agree with that but I use them for soup and stew so bland is good. I am going to add the vanilla, just for variety. I love these biscuits would recommend this to even a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This receipe was awesome, except using milk I used carnation milk and it turned out great! Better than my grandmas biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have tried several baking powder biscuit recipes… My family likes this one the best! The proportions are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslina21
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
These are perfect, can be rolled or dropped. Best tip is to make sure you are using really cold butter/margarine/shortening. If rolling out make sure not to over work the dough because the better will get too melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States