Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I feel like I've been saved a lot of trouble and time by finding this recipe. I don't need to look further. I actually get compliments on the crust. The butter adds flavor while the crisco adds flakiness. Also, a couple of hints: After you have molded the pie crust to the pan, rest it in the refrigerator for 40 minutes. This relaxes the gluten and reduces shrinkage. After 40 minutes, put it directly into the freezer for 20 minutes (this step increase flakiness). Add the filling quickly and bake immediately. Of course,this added step is if you're truly in pursuit of perfection, but isn't essential. Lastly, I am not very talented at rolling out the dough and peeling it off the counter. Plus, adding flour to the counter alters the recipe. I discovered that if I roll it out between 2 pieces of large saran wrap, I can unpeel one piece, flip it onto the pie plate and then unpeel the second piece of saran wrap without ever even having to touch it with my hands. This was a great discovery! Thanks for this truly exceptional recipe. Try this crust with the Apple Crumble Pie recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG! This has to be one of the BEST pie crusts I've ever had on this site! It's so delicious, and so flaky yet easy to roll out that I can see why this person has won County Fair competitions with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly using cake flour which I have to admit I've never used in pie crust before - I doubled the recipe for a deep dish pie "Vermont Apple Pie" from this site to be exact. I used butter flavored shortening and found that I only need 8 Tbsp. of the egg yolk, water/vinegar mixture. I chilled the dough in the freezer for a bit and then I rolled the dough out onto wax paper that was lightly floured and it was a breeze to put into a deep dish pie plate. It baked up beautifully! I'm so glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is by far my favorite pie crust recipe! It sounds a little labor intensive but it's not too bad. The key is to keep things cold and to handle the crust as little as possible so the gluten doesn't break down (which makes it tough and not flaky). I always just used a fork instead of a food processor and regular AP flour and it turns out wonderful. I've also used frozen butter cut with a cheese grater (easier then a fork) and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Excellent! This is THE very BEST pie crust I have ever made! I didn't use the cake flour...just doubled my regular flour (the ONLY flour I will bake with is White Lily, which is ground "extra fine") and it turned out perfect!Like some of you, I have been searching for a good pie crust recipe for years...and I finally found it. Thanks to Carole for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great recipe! Will not use any others from now on. I was in charge of pies for Thanksgiving this year. Although I am a pretty good baker, I don't consider pies one of my specialties. The other problem was I had to work through Wednesday and didn't know how I would have time to make 6 pies Wednesday night after working all day! I made six crusts with this recipe the weekend before Thanksgiving and froze them. Wednesday night I pulled them out and added the various fillings and baked. They came out perfectly!!! Also -- I followed Mindy W's advice about rolling the crust out between saran wrap. WOW!! EASY AND NO MESS!!! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Definitely one of the best pie crusts that I have ever made. I love to bake, but I tend to shy away from pies since my crust always comes out tough. Although this recipe requires a few additional steps, I think it is well worth the extra effort. As Carole recommends, the key is to sprinkle the liquid mixture a little at a time. (I used about 4 Tbsp.) At first, mine felt a little too moist but I sprinkled a little flour on the dough prior to rolling it out and it came out just right. I recommend rolling it out between wax paper so that once the crust has been placed in the pan you can peel off the wax paper without tearing the dough. The only additional step I took was to refrigerate the crust for about 15-20 minutes after I placed it in the pan. I've been told you need to let the gluten relax after you've rolled it out to avoid too much shrinkage when pre-baking the crust. All I can say is my pie crust came out pretty close to perfect. My husband gave the crust a thumbs up. Thanks Carole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
WOW! I have been struggling to make a decent pie crust for ages...this is the recipe! It made a good size amount of dough, and the crust was flakey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Thanks for the recipe. For 35 years I have only made pastry using a pound of lard. The results were good but sometimes I didn't want to make that much. This an excellent, flaky pie crust with a perfect flavour. It is definitely a keeper and I will likely be using this most of the time now. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This makes a tasty, rich and tender crust. The recipe made enough for a 9.5 in. deep dish single crust. I found I needed only about 1/4 c. of the ice water, which I mixed with the egg yolk and vinegar without the extra water and ice cubes. I chilled the dough only slightly, then rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Wonderful, flaky crust. If you've quit making pies because of what a hassle the crust is, people -this recipe is just for you. Really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States