Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made a strawberry pie for my neighbor using this recipe for the pie crust..she said the pie was "WONDERFUL" and absolutely LOVED the pie crust...I'll be using it again since my neighbor and her husband thought the pie crust was "WONDERFUL"...thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Thank you so kindly for sharing your wonderful recipe. For years I have made my pastry crust with just shortening and it was very good--flaky, pesentable but not as flavorable as those made with butter. But this recipe is everything a pastry crust should be--flaky, delicious and beautiful. I have been making it with 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 K.A. unbleached all-purpose flour as I did not have cake flour on hand and I used a little bit less water. But other than those minor changes, I followed the recipe exactly with great success. Right now, I have just made a double batch to do some English baking--treacle tart, and lemon and raspberry tarts. This pastry is just perfect for these!!! Again, I thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Renee
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used this recipe to make an Apple Pie for my 1st Thanksgiving with my husband. Although it was more work than traditional crust recipes, it was worth it. This crust is DELICIOUS. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Doubled it, used Earth Balance shortening, and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose for chicken pot pie, and WOW--thick, great, copious crust. I rolled it pretty thick since the dough was so cold, and I had way more than I need. And thanks to the shortening, the crust is just as good the second day, even after refrigeration, as it was the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This crust melted in your mouth. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I didn't even come close to using the amount of liquid called for. I only used a little under half, so make sure you very slowly add the liquid to ensure the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I haven't made enough pie crusts to declare this one the best, but I was happy with the way it turned out and would definitely make it again. I don't see why some people think it's time-consuming or hard--I didn't find it to be so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is truly the HOLY GRAIL of Pie Crusts! Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!!! I just made 2 pies for Thanksgiving and never had so many compliments on my pie crusts. (Frankly I NEVER had any compliments on my pie crusts, previously.) Even my finicky, hard to please 88 year old Aunt said it was just like "old time" flakey crust and wanted to know the recipe. I followed the wise, gracious advice of another reviewer and rolled out the dough between 2 pieces of saran wrap so my hands never touched the dough, no extra flour was used that might alter the recipe, and made for easy transference onto the pie pan. Once I molded the dough on the pie pan, I chilled it 40 minutes in the fridge to relax the gluten, and for added complete, flakiness perfection, I then followed her advice and put it in the freezer an addl' 20 minutes. What a difference! This crust will make any baker envious! Do yourself a favor, please try this recipe with the added hints. It adds a few steps, but you won't be disappointed. It not only tastes good, its gorgeous in presentation. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I didn't use cake flour, I didn't have any. So, just used regular flour. I used lard not vegetable shortening along with butter. I have to say this rolled out so nice. And it didn't shrink like lots of other pie crust recipes. This is the best pie crust ever. I made three pies yesterday and will be making 2 more today for Thanksgiving. Definetely a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was the first time I made a pie crust from scratch and its REALLY good! I followed everything exact except i didn't have any cake flower so I used regular flour. We only use White lily so I did have a good quality flour. I took the advice from another reviewer and put it back in the fridge after forming it into a pie plate. Once i baked it, it shrunk a little, but i believe it was my fault. I made a chocolate pie with this crust and brushed the crust with egg wash and sprinkled a tad of sugar on it....I will keep using the recipe until i get it perfect! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Good, good, good! Though I think the liquid amount should be reduced or explained better. Mine came out pretty wet. (I am a first time crust maker) I had so much liquid per the recipe, as I was adding, I guess I got overly secure and should have added it more slowly, only as needed. It was still awesome, after refrigerating overnight, and a little extra flour when rolling. The flavor was very tasty! I cannot wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States