Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am 62 years old & have been trying to make a decent pie crust for half my life....this one is the only one you will need,trust me. I use it to make meat pies too..I add some dried herbs to the dry ingredients when making these meat pies....adds a little pizazz. Buy yourself some of those little aluminum pie tins & make mini pies.....cut out a heart of dough & place on top...bake pie as usual. Give to someone & tell them you made the pie with love just for them!! People feel special when they get their own little pie....this piecrust will make all the difference to whatever filling you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have used this recipe 5 times the only thing i add is 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. I would not use any other pie crust for this type of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made a strawberry pie for my neighbor using this recipe for the pie crust..she said the pie was "WONDERFUL" and absolutely LOVED the pie crust...I'll be using it again since my neighbor and her husband thought the pie crust was "WONDERFUL"...thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Thank you so kindly for sharing your wonderful recipe. For years I have made my pastry crust with just shortening and it was very good--flaky, pesentable but not as flavorable as those made with butter. But this recipe is everything a pastry crust should be--flaky, delicious and beautiful. I have been making it with 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 K.A. unbleached all-purpose flour as I did not have cake flour on hand and I used a little bit less water. But other than those minor changes, I followed the recipe exactly with great success. Right now, I have just made a double batch to do some English baking--treacle tart, and lemon and raspberry tarts. This pastry is just perfect for these!!! Again, I thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Renee
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used this recipe to make an Apple Pie for my 1st Thanksgiving with my husband. Although it was more work than traditional crust recipes, it was worth it. This crust is DELICIOUS. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Doubled it, used Earth Balance shortening, and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose for chicken pot pie, and WOW--thick, great, copious crust. I rolled it pretty thick since the dough was so cold, and I had way more than I need. And thanks to the shortening, the crust is just as good the second day, even after refrigeration, as it was the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This crust melted in your mouth. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I didn't even come close to using the amount of liquid called for. I only used a little under half, so make sure you very slowly add the liquid to ensure the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I haven't made enough pie crusts to declare this one the best, but I was happy with the way it turned out and would definitely make it again. I don't see why some people think it's time-consuming or hard--I didn't find it to be so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is truly the HOLY GRAIL of Pie Crusts! Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!!! I just made 2 pies for Thanksgiving and never had so many compliments on my pie crusts. (Frankly I NEVER had any compliments on my pie crusts, previously.) Even my finicky, hard to please 88 year old Aunt said it was just like "old time" flakey crust and wanted to know the recipe. I followed the wise, gracious advice of another reviewer and rolled out the dough between 2 pieces of saran wrap so my hands never touched the dough, no extra flour was used that might alter the recipe, and made for easy transference onto the pie pan. Once I molded the dough on the pie pan, I chilled it 40 minutes in the fridge to relax the gluten, and for added complete, flakiness perfection, I then followed her advice and put it in the freezer an addl' 20 minutes. What a difference! This crust will make any baker envious! Do yourself a favor, please try this recipe with the added hints. It adds a few steps, but you won't be disappointed. It not only tastes good, its gorgeous in presentation. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I didn't use cake flour, I didn't have any. So, just used regular flour. I used lard not vegetable shortening along with butter. I have to say this rolled out so nice. And it didn't shrink like lots of other pie crust recipes. This is the best pie crust ever. I made three pies yesterday and will be making 2 more today for Thanksgiving. Definetely a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States