Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful pie crust! You have made me the blue ribbon winner in my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I must say that this was the most frustrating pie crust recipe I have ever used and I have made several kinds. I made as directed but could not get the crust to roll out. It would break apart every time I tried and I kept putting it in the refrigerator or freezer to make sure it was cold. I finally put it in the pie plate and pushed it down with my fingers and that worked fine, though I didn't get the pretty edge I was wanting. The bad thing was I quadrupled this recipe because I plan to make more pies this week to give away. Now, I may have to make a different recipe for my give away pies. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
THE best pie crust for a cook whom struggled with pie crust. This one comes out perfect! I used all regular flour, but am sure an added element could be had by halfing it with cake flour. Also, my crust did not take all of the yolk, vinegar, water mixture. I followed the instructions for 5 TBS at a time and that was a perfect tip to not "over water" the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Loving it! I just threw everything together in my mixer (dry ingredients first) and yep, what a great crust! I skipped the ice cubes, did not freeze anything, no extras, and even though my dough was a slightly greasy from the room temp butter, I had no fuss at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever tried! I have never had a pie crust turn out as flaky and wonderful as this one did--this is the ONLY recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryanne Affleck Robison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This WAS good, but not the best I've tried. Worth using for a decent pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by easterngambler
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've never been that great at making dough, but this recipe was fairly easy even without a processor. The Crust was amazing, flakey, and strong. I could I have picked up my whole apple pie without it falling apart. The only reason I'm giving this recipe 4 stars is because there wasn't enough dough I had to switch to a smaller pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
takes alot of extra work, is good, but not sure if its worth the extra effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm not sure what all the hype is about with this recipe. I've tried to make it twice now and both times I ended up with a wet, sticky mess before I even used up half of the liquid ingredients. On the second batch, I stopped adding the liquid once the dough came together and just started to become too wet. I gently kneaded in a couple tablespoons of flour before wrapping it up and sticking it in the fridge. Honestly, I'm afraid to make a pie with it, I picked my own apples at a local farm and I don't want the thing to come out a big soggy mess. I guess we'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taricotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So Good!!! GREAT for both sweet and savory items. I was not sure if this would work because I left it in the fridge for 2 days or so after making. I had it rolled into a ball and tightly wrapped. I had unwrapped it Sunday to check it out and it turned out wonderful! So very flaky and reminds me of my Grandmothers... except the lard. Will use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States