Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Loving it! I just threw everything together in my mixer (dry ingredients first) and yep, what a great crust! I skipped the ice cubes, did not freeze anything, no extras, and even though my dough was a slightly greasy from the room temp butter, I had no fuss at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever tried! I have never had a pie crust turn out as flaky and wonderful as this one did--this is the ONLY recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryanne Affleck Robison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This WAS good, but not the best I've tried. Worth using for a decent pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by easterngambler
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've never been that great at making dough, but this recipe was fairly easy even without a processor. The Crust was amazing, flakey, and strong. I could I have picked up my whole apple pie without it falling apart. The only reason I'm giving this recipe 4 stars is because there wasn't enough dough I had to switch to a smaller pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
takes alot of extra work, is good, but not sure if its worth the extra effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm not sure what all the hype is about with this recipe. I've tried to make it twice now and both times I ended up with a wet, sticky mess before I even used up half of the liquid ingredients. On the second batch, I stopped adding the liquid once the dough came together and just started to become too wet. I gently kneaded in a couple tablespoons of flour before wrapping it up and sticking it in the fridge. Honestly, I'm afraid to make a pie with it, I picked my own apples at a local farm and I don't want the thing to come out a big soggy mess. I guess we'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taricotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So Good!!! GREAT for both sweet and savory items. I was not sure if this would work because I left it in the fridge for 2 days or so after making. I had it rolled into a ball and tightly wrapped. I had unwrapped it Sunday to check it out and it turned out wonderful! So very flaky and reminds me of my Grandmothers... except the lard. Will use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC! I used this as my crust in the "chicken pot pie IX" recipe (also found on allrecipes.com). Way more tasty than frozen pie crusts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is the FIRST pie crust recipe I ever tried. I have never baked a pie before this, so I used this crust recipe to make a Blueberry pie. That pie turned out to be sooo good I think it could be a county fair blue ribbon winner! I didn't refrigerate and freeze the dough as long as directed because I didn't have time, but it turned out just right! I went online and searched for a video on how to make a lattice crust. It was actually easy and looked beautiful! You can see a picture on my page. I put foil around the crimped part of the crust for the first 15 minutes while baking so it didn't burn. It came out perfectly lightly browned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
OMG is all I can say about this crust. Read most of the reviews prior to trying & thank God for all of you who have tested, tried and will take the time to review recipes. This is the best pie crust ever. I didn't handle the crust all all like the viewers said, didn't even add flour when I rolled the crust out. Followed directions to a tea except I didn't have cake flour so instead I used bread flour because it's all I had. The frozen butter thing worked great with a shreader and I laid down two long pieces of wax paper and didn't have to flour them because I worked with the dough very cold and kept the other one in fridge until bottom crust was formed. I didn't think I'd be able to follow the recipe (seemed complicated) but I took my time and did it word for word and it was an unbelievable crust. My apples created a lot of juice but the bottom crust withstood the juice. I baked pie on 400 for 1st 15 min and turned to 350 for remaining 45 min. This is restaurant quality crust and thank God for all the wonderful people who share their secrets, God bless you all! but special thanks to Carolealana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superk734

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States