Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent! I was almost deterred by the long list of ingredients but it's TOTALLY WORTH IT. The fats balance nicely for the perfect combination of flaky/crispy/chewy and it isn't overly buttery tasting (or worse, like straight up shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Just to add to some of the comments. Making dough will always very depending on the humidity in your home. For this reason making a pie dough in Florida is very different than making one in Arizona ;) add the liquid slowly, it should just hold together. If it's sticky through it out and start again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sorcha Morency

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Oh my, this is my go-to recipe for pie crust from now on! I've always been known for my pies, but this really steps it up a notch. Melt-in-your-mouth buttery, flaky... it's definitely the best I've ever tried. And using the food processor makes it a snap... how come I didn't ever think of that?! I followed the recipe exactly, but here are a my tips (many of which came from previous reviewers): *You can make your own cake flour by using 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, taking out 1 1/2 tbsp and replacing it with 1 1/2 tbsp cornstarch, and then sifting 5-6 times. Works perfectly :) *I use organic unsalted butter. I just think it makes a flakier, better tasting crust. *I hardly ever need to use more than 4-5 tbsp of the water/vinegar/egg yolk mixture. You don't want your dough too wet. Handle the dough as little as possible. *Rolling out the dough between layers of plastic wrap or waxed paper is the way to go. Be careful to roll it out evenly, and not too thickly, however. You want a light crust that's not too heavy. This recipe makes quite a bit of dough, enough for a very large deep-dish pie. If you're using a smaller pie tin, decrease the amount of dough you try to roll. When making a two-crust pie, I make 1 1/2 recipes and it's plenty. *Definitely refrigerate the pie crust for 30-40 minutes after you've rolled it and molded it into the pie plate. As others have noted, this reduces shrinkage. Perfection!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Today I used the store brand 'ready to unroll and bake' type pie crust and realized I should have taken the time to make this crust again, like I did this past thanksgiving...but I was lazy. What a sad little crust...next time I'll come back to this recipe or just not make a pie at all! Baker's Secret Pie Crust comes out so wonderful and you'll savor every bite and NOT be let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
wow! It was great.but dough was wet so I had to add more flour and before placing it in oven I covered it with beaten egg white and sesames.result was excellent and so flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
that was a lot of prep for burnt pie crust, either 425 or 50 mins is too long or too hot. After a second look and letting it cool down it seems as though just the edge burned which I know is highly preventable still maybe 45 min or 400 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
We were skeptical this would turn out all right, but t turned out AMAZING!! Not the prettiest looking crust, but great taste. It was paired perfectly with Beef Pot Pie - Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Perfect crust, even at high altitude! (7100 feet) This was the first pie I have ever made, and it was surprisingly easy. I didn't have to make any adjustments, and it was absolutely delicious. I used the hint about rolling the crust between pieces of Saran wrap and it worked like a charm. I made Grandma Ople's apple pie for the filling and a crumb crust for the topping..delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I wanted a crumbly crust like Marie Callenders banana cream pie. This recipe did not disappoint. The water amount, I've found, is way off. I've made this crust at least 5 times and I never use even close to the full amount of water and I live in dry Colorado, so add just enough liquid to make the dough just clump together. The vinegar and egg yolk must do something to the texture and flavor making it excellent, and different from other crusts. It is hard to work with, so chill the dough overnight for easier handling, roll on floured surface, or press into the pie pan works fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. I was a bit confused by the part of the recipe when you mix egg with vinegar and then measure some of that back in to the recipe tablespoons at a time. I almost made a major error there. I was worried after the dough was mixed because it was really wet. But I wrapped it in plastic wrap and refrigerated it. I didn't end up rolling it out for several hours later. I heavily floured my surface, floured my hands, floured the rolling pin and it all worked out. I used the crust in a chicken pot pie. OH MY GOODNESS! It was absolutely the best crust I have ever made. Light, flaky, crispy, held together, tasted awesome! The tiny hint of vinegar really worked. I can't wait to try the crust recipe on a fruit pie or pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States