Baker's Clay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was so easy to make and very fun for the kids. However, do NOT follow the cooking directions or you will have puffy dark brown ornaments. Try 250 degrees and check after 20-25 minutes. If they are still soft, continue baking and check every 5 minutes. I tried both acrylic paint and poster paint to decorate, both worked equally well. Don't forget to poke a hole at the top with a straw before baking for the ribbon to hang on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe for ornaments. It was quick, easy, not at all messy, kids loved it. I did put the oven down to about 300, and it cut down on the puffiness, I also added allspice, ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the recipe to make it a gingerbread color, and it smells GREAT while baking. It made about 30 cookies for me. I put a hole in the top w/ the end of a paint brush, the straw hole was a bit too big for me. A really cute idea for hanging--gingham rag ties- very country and rustic looking. Try making a rag tie garland as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Making Christmas ornaments is my favorite creative endeavor after cooking. However, anyone who makes these, or other food-based ornaments should know that sometimes bugs (or even other attic-dwelling critters!) can ruin your beautiful artwork. To avoid the problem, always store flour-based ornaments in airtight boxes. My favorite storage for these are metal cookie/gift boxes, which also make the cutest type of package if you are giving these ornaments as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a good recipe, tends to puff up unevenly on larger ornaments. Also used this for my daughter's handprints to hang on the wall, just left the clay out to dry, and flipped to dry the otherside. Worked great and didn't have to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
This is such a fun recipe! I have used it in the past to make handprints of my nieces and nephew when they were 3 and 4 years old and I made a plaque with my baby nieces foot and handprints when she was about 11 months old that we gave to her mom for Mother's Day. I used acrylic paints on them and sprayed with acrylic sealer-matte finish. They still look good almost 5 years later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I had so much fun making this recipe!! It can be used as play doh or makes fun ornaments I recommed letting them dry out instead of baking otherwise they get puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
For a nice brown shade, try adding instant ice tea instead of costly spices. I use whole cloves for eyes and buttons, they add a nice scent. To foil critters in the attic, spray with a acrylic sealer. I hang them from a dowel inside a big cardboard box so I coat all sides. That will also keep them from bloating if stored somewhere damp. Something else I've tried is to run the dry ingredients through a blender, making the salt finer and thus a smoother dough. I made these for a craft sale and every single one sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe has the exact same ingredients as the "Dough Ornament Recipe" and "Ornament Dough" recipes. My suggestions: Note that 5 cups of dough is a lot! I halved the recipe and still had a lot more than I needed. You might as well make a small amount, it is easy to mix up more later if you want. Keep the dough in a bowl covered with a damp dishtowel when you are not working with it. You might find adding a small amount of additional water to the piece you are working with helping. The longer you knead the dough, the better. I tried making 3-D bird ornaments but they ended up cracking as the outside dries long before the inside can. I made flat ones as well and that seems the only way to go. I cooked them at 200 * F (it took several hours) and avoided puffing problems. I submitted photos of my finished product, see additional comments on the one of the birds hanging in the tree. One last thing-- these are fragile! I broke off two of the tails-- but superglue works to put them back together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I plan on taking some christmas ornaments to my family when I go to visit over the thanksgiving holiday, so I had to make sure this recipe works ahead of time, I love it, my kids really enjoy making them. I crushed whole cloves and cinnimon sticks together and mixed them in the dough.... they smell wonderful, these will definitly be a hit with the relatives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a GREAT way to let the kids put the ingredients together, and mix & knead the dough. I let my daughter do almost all of it, and she LOVED using the rolling pin to make the different cut-outs. Remember if you are using these as ornaments to put a hole in the dough BEFORE baking. I used a nail from my husbands tool box that worked perfect. The reason I gave this 3 stars is because they do look a little weird after baking--but definatly worth it. The kids LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States