Baker's Clay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was a great and easy dough. I added brown acrylic paint to the dough along with spices to make it more like gingerbread. I also took the advice of others and let them dry. The color turned out great and they turned out like baked gingerbread so instead of having to cover them in paint, I just decorated them. I am using plain dough to make Christmas presents for the Grandparents and wall plaques for me! The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because it took longer to dry instead of being able to bake them. If you find that dough to be too crumbly, add some more water. I added as much as a third of a cup. The acrylic paint gave the dough a smooth consistancy and is easy to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENTJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Where we live there aren't any craft stores easily accessible so this worked well when my son came home and needed to create a visual book report in two days (kids!)...anyway, I made this and colored with food coloring. When the kids were done making their art, we put it by the woodstove instead of baking. It got a little "puffy" but just enhanced the look! Make extra and seal in a zip lock bag, great for a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
This is such a fun recipe! I have used it in the past to make handprints of my nieces and nephew when they were 3 and 4 years old and I made a plaque with my baby nieces foot and handprints when she was about 11 months old that we gave to her mom for Mother's Day. I used acrylic paints on them and sprayed with acrylic sealer-matte finish. They still look good almost 5 years later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This recipe didn't work for me. The just cracked and broke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe for ornaments. It was quick, easy, not at all messy, kids loved it. I did put the oven down to about 300, and it cut down on the puffiness, I also added allspice, ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the recipe to make it a gingerbread color, and it smells GREAT while baking. It made about 30 cookies for me. I put a hole in the top w/ the end of a paint brush, the straw hole was a bit too big for me. A really cute idea for hanging--gingham rag ties- very country and rustic looking. Try making a rag tie garland as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I had so much fun making this recipe!! It can be used as play doh or makes fun ornaments I recommed letting them dry out instead of baking otherwise they get puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Making Christmas ornaments is my favorite creative endeavor after cooking. However, anyone who makes these, or other food-based ornaments should know that sometimes bugs (or even other attic-dwelling critters!) can ruin your beautiful artwork. To avoid the problem, always store flour-based ornaments in airtight boxes. My favorite storage for these are metal cookie/gift boxes, which also make the cutest type of package if you are giving these ornaments as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a GREAT way to let the kids put the ingredients together, and mix & knead the dough. I let my daughter do almost all of it, and she LOVED using the rolling pin to make the different cut-outs. Remember if you are using these as ornaments to put a hole in the dough BEFORE baking. I used a nail from my husbands tool box that worked perfect. The reason I gave this 3 stars is because they do look a little weird after baking--but definatly worth it. The kids LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very Fun! Be careful...it does like to puff up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
i am a brownie troop leader and we have used this recipe several times to make different simple and inexpensive crafts for various holidays with cutouts glue and imagination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States