Baker's Clay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I am so glad to find this recipe my mom has always made this for me as a child its so nice to have it now for my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is a fun recipe to make with kids. However, you definitely need to add more water than the recipe states. Also, you might want to bake at a lower temperature than the recipe states -- 350 degrees causes a lot of browning and the ornaments do not stay flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
it was ok! VERY hard to mix! And it looked raW after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I cooked these for 30 min. at 250 degrees. I should have cooked them longer for they curled up after sitting out. The kids loved making them either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was so easy to make and very fun for the kids. However, do NOT follow the cooking directions or you will have puffy dark brown ornaments. Try 250 degrees and check after 20-25 minutes. If they are still soft, continue baking and check every 5 minutes. I tried both acrylic paint and poster paint to decorate, both worked equally well. Don't forget to poke a hole at the top with a straw before baking for the ribbon to hang on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was an easy and good recipe for ornament clay. I would recommend eiither air-drying the shapes over night or baking for only 30-40 minutes. After this time, my shapes started to get brown. At 30 minutes, they still stayed relatively light-colored. Also, make sure you roll it thin because otherwise it puffs up as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is way off. First of all, I had to add twice the amount of water that is called for. Also, the recipe says that they should be baked for one hour.. after 27 minutes my house filled with smoke. Thanks for nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was a great project to do with the kids. Since the dough likes to puff up I tried baking it at 250 degrees for about 1-2 hours (depending on how thick the cookie was) and they did not seem to puff up. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I plan on taking some christmas ornaments to my family when I go to visit over the thanksgiving holiday, so I had to make sure this recipe works ahead of time, I love it, my kids really enjoy making them. I crushed whole cloves and cinnimon sticks together and mixed them in the dough.... they smell wonderful, these will definitly be a hit with the relatives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Easy and fun to make with the children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States