Baked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this today before work and it was really easy. I didn't even bother boiling the zucchini beforehand, I just scooped out the seeds and filled them with the filling. It takes a little longer for it to cook, about 20 more minutes, but I hate dirtying pots for no reason! I used sharp cheddar cheese instead of the parm b/c I was out of it. The only thing I reccommend is not to reheat too long in the mircowave like I did... the filling melted out after 2min on high :/ Still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
YUMMY! I'm sure it would be great as written, but I was looking for a main dish, so after reading other reviews I used 2 large zucchini and devided 1/2 lb browned ground beef seasoned w/ italian seasoning between each half. I was out of sour cream, so I sub'd cottage cheese & a little lemon juice in the cheese mixture and added a little oregano. I didn't have a pan big enough to boil the squash in, so I just put them in the oven w/ a little water in the pan while I was mixing up the filling & baked them for 20 mins. after adding the filling. My whole family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was okay. I wish I had taken the advice of previous reviewers and cut down on the garlic though; it made it too spicy. I had two very large zucchini from the garden, so I doubled the recipe...but I didn't need to - we had way too much filling, and it overpowered the zucc's flavor completely. I might try this again keeping these things in mind; I think these changes would make a positive difference. I also like the idea of adding taco seasoned meat or italian sausage to the mixture. hhhmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Easy to follow - I baked uncovered. I sliced it to serve it. The next day, with the leftovers, I made a marinara sauce and poured it over the bake. It was even 3x as good. Thanks for this new side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I used a medium sized zucchini, boiled it in SALTED water for 5 minutes, then immersed it in ice water for later use. I also prepared the filling early. I cut back a bit on the garlic as suggested, and added a little salt and pepper. With it being so cold when I put it in the oven, I needed to bake it longer, but the texture stayed quite firm. I will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We thought that it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
this was ok. i halved the recipe and used a large zucchini and there was still plenty of filling. From one of the reviews I skipped the boiling and baked for 20 mins. Not something I would make often as the filling turned more into a very rich cream sauce after cooking. Would try a lower fat version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I liked it, but won't make very often. Not sensational. I did sprinkle mozzarella on top. Yummy. Next day it was good sliced and eaten cold. I found that one giant zucc from the garden was filled perfectly. Not too much filling and the boiling time was great, too (actually, I steamed them for this amt. of time). Good texture, not mushy but cooked a little beyond al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Well, I slightly changed this recipe, and my husband loved it, although it was a bit too garlic-y for me. (My hubby *loved* it, though.) I did not boil the zuccini first. I just scooped out the seeds, then put the cream cheese/sour cream filling in, then baked them. I liked the texture, which ended up firm. I'll probably make this side again; however, I'm going to lay off the garlic just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was delicious!!! I added about half a cup of mozzarella cheese too and it was soooo good. I could only get super market sized zucchini (about 7 or 8 inches long and fairly thin) so I used three. Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States