Baked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
YUMMY! I'm sure it would be great as written, but I was looking for a main dish, so after reading other reviews I used 2 large zucchini and devided 1/2 lb browned ground beef seasoned w/ italian seasoning between each half. I was out of sour cream, so I sub'd cottage cheese & a little lemon juice in the cheese mixture and added a little oregano. I didn't have a pan big enough to boil the squash in, so I just put them in the oven w/ a little water in the pan while I was mixing up the filling & baked them for 20 mins. after adding the filling. My whole family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
My family loved this recipe! I added mozzarella cheese, and used fat free sour cream and fat free cream cheese. My kids, who are getting sick of zucchini, even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Very good recipe. However I added some shredded mozzarella and provolone to the cream cheese mixture. Also after putting the cream cheese mixture in I sprinkled on more cheese, tehn sprinkled with paprika. My husband loved them. I served them as an appetizer for the hockey game. We'll definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
One of my favorites. Be careful to not over-boil the zucchini or it will be soggy and won't hold the mixture well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Yummy recipe...i will go a little lighter on the garlic next time (and I am a garlic lover!)and I will probably use a medium zucchini with the rest of the ingredients cut in half. There was just a little bit too much filling. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This filling had such a rich taste to it, that I found making it in smaller boats was a big success. Every one at the table wanted the recipe! Hint: I put the filling in a zip seal bag and cut the corner to squeeze it into the boats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was okay. I wish I had taken the advice of previous reviewers and cut down on the garlic though; it made it too spicy. I had two very large zucchini from the garden, so I doubled the recipe...but I didn't need to - we had way too much filling, and it overpowered the zucc's flavor completely. I might try this again keeping these things in mind; I think these changes would make a positive difference. I also like the idea of adding taco seasoned meat or italian sausage to the mixture. hhhmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I used a medium sized zucchini, boiled it in SALTED water for 5 minutes, then immersed it in ice water for later use. I also prepared the filling early. I cut back a bit on the garlic as suggested, and added a little salt and pepper. With it being so cold when I put it in the oven, I needed to bake it longer, but the texture stayed quite firm. I will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I LOVE this recipe. It is the best. I have seen this recipe on other sites and have always enjoyed it. Sometimes if I want this as a side to mexican dishes I add a half tablespoon of chili powder in with the stuffing mixture. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Very good. I used 2 med zucchini and filling was plenty. I also used only 2 large garlic cloves pressed. Next time will try with low or no fat dairy products. Great recipe though very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States