Baked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
YUMMY! I'm sure it would be great as written, but I was looking for a main dish, so after reading other reviews I used 2 large zucchini and devided 1/2 lb browned ground beef seasoned w/ italian seasoning between each half. I was out of sour cream, so I sub'd cottage cheese & a little lemon juice in the cheese mixture and added a little oregano. I didn't have a pan big enough to boil the squash in, so I just put them in the oven w/ a little water in the pan while I was mixing up the filling & baked them for 20 mins. after adding the filling. My whole family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was okay. I wish I had taken the advice of previous reviewers and cut down on the garlic though; it made it too spicy. I had two very large zucchini from the garden, so I doubled the recipe...but I didn't need to - we had way too much filling, and it overpowered the zucc's flavor completely. I might try this again keeping these things in mind; I think these changes would make a positive difference. I also like the idea of adding taco seasoned meat or italian sausage to the mixture. hhhmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Easy to follow - I baked uncovered. I sliced it to serve it. The next day, with the leftovers, I made a marinara sauce and poured it over the bake. It was even 3x as good. Thanks for this new side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I used a medium sized zucchini, boiled it in SALTED water for 5 minutes, then immersed it in ice water for later use. I also prepared the filling early. I cut back a bit on the garlic as suggested, and added a little salt and pepper. With it being so cold when I put it in the oven, I needed to bake it longer, but the texture stayed quite firm. I will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We thought that it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
this was ok. i halved the recipe and used a large zucchini and there was still plenty of filling. From one of the reviews I skipped the boiling and baked for 20 mins. Not something I would make often as the filling turned more into a very rich cream sauce after cooking. Would try a lower fat version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I liked it, but won't make very often. Not sensational. I did sprinkle mozzarella on top. Yummy. Next day it was good sliced and eaten cold. I found that one giant zucc from the garden was filled perfectly. Not too much filling and the boiling time was great, too (actually, I steamed them for this amt. of time). Good texture, not mushy but cooked a little beyond al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Well, I slightly changed this recipe, and my husband loved it, although it was a bit too garlic-y for me. (My hubby *loved* it, though.) I did not boil the zuccini first. I just scooped out the seeds, then put the cream cheese/sour cream filling in, then baked them. I liked the texture, which ended up firm. I'll probably make this side again; however, I'm going to lay off the garlic just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was delicious!!! I added about half a cup of mozzarella cheese too and it was soooo good. I could only get super market sized zucchini (about 7 or 8 inches long and fairly thin) so I used three. Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Very good,would make it again. Husband also liked it.I followed the recipe as stated and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States