Baked Zucchini Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
2 stars, partly because it doesn't exactly tell you how much zucchini to use, but also because the incredibly soggy texture of the outcome. Is it 3 little store-bought zucchini or 3 big zucchini from the garden? I made a half batch and grated one good-sized garden variety, that yielded 2.5 cups or so grated, which I squeezed as much excess liquid out as I could. Once baked golden brown in the top, sides and bottom, I topped with some shredded cheddar and baked a few minutes to melt the cheese. They smelled wonderful, but when I cut in, they were completely soggy underneath. I tried to bake a little longer but it didn't help. Maybe they're supposed to be that way, like a corn pudding as opposed to corn bread, you know? I ate the browned edges and the flavors are yummy, but the super-soggy texture did not work for us, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a great way to use up zucchini from the garden. Unfortunately mine were huge and I didn't realize how tough the peel was. I should have peeled it before using in the recipe. Next time it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
good! used 1/3C olive oil & closer to 1C turkey pepperoni--baked till golden. really had that pizza taste! great way to use zucchini that isn't a sweet dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Love this it's so good with marinara sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I liked the basis of this recipe. It did need some additional "flavor". I added some fresh finely minced garlic, 2 cloves & red Pepper flakes. I used a cheese biscuit mix (MC). I lightly sauteed 1/2 an onion & drained in on a paper towel. Sometimes, often, onions w/release liquid in the baking process & make things soggy. Dry parmesan usually helps but I added an additional egg & some extra sharp cheddar(1/3 cup in the mix & about the same on top after the last 5 minutes). I did not put in the pepperoni in. We have some vegi people at our Nature Center. Eggs are ok, but the meat stuff isn't. It turned out a hit anyway at my Nature Center & my husband's work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I was hoping this would be a good use for some of the zucchini I have, but I found it to lack flavor. The pepperoni just didn't have the punch to make this a recipe worth repeating. It was not soggy, as some reviewers have said, but it definitely needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The spices are too overbearing, so much that you can hardly even taste the pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States