Baked Zucchini de Provence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really liked this! What a great presentation and I loved the crunchy bread crumb/cheese topping. I didn't EVEN pay attention to the amount of salt called for--it was obviously salt overkill. I just gave it a light sprinkling of salt and pepper. I made this two ways--one with the Herbes de Provence as called for, and the other with a Tuscan seasoning blend. While both were good, I much preferred the Tuscan seasoning. This was a nice departure from the typical, sauteed zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a definite hit. Great combination of flavors and so easy to make. Had a large group so assembled in a 9 x 13 pan. I ran out of Parmesan so added some shredded mozzarella cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
i made this with the veggies that were on sale this week -- asparagus and yellow bell peppers -- and used only about 1/2 the olive oil. veggies stayed firm, FANTASTIC flavor, refreshing alternative to cheesy casseroles/boring steamed veggies. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Maybe explaining what is in Herbes de Provence would help those who can't find it in their stores. It contains a mix of ,dried Fennel, Rosemary, Thyme, and Lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made this recipe .. it was wonderful !!! easy and tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
If you're looking for a little different zucchini recipe, this is it! I arranged the zucchini in a beautiful quiche dish for a beautiful presentation. Followed the directions, but maybe didn't use as much oil for drizzling. Everyone loved it, even the kids!!! (herb de Provence can be found in the herb and spice section of your grocery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe was the far best of many i tried in the past. I used some other spicy herbs, it worked 100%. My friends asked for more. Big thanks for your great work. Alena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I was cooking up a triple threat of herbs de provence for my wife, as she doubted we could ever use our jar of lavender. I already had a recipe for chicken and rice, so I needed a vegetable, and came across this gem. While we're not the biggest fans of using lavender in dinner, this baked zucchini recipe could use any sort of spice blend. This was the highlight of dinner, and is going to be our preferred method of serving zucchini. We almost ate it all before the chicken finished cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Delicious, but it is a littly salty. I'd eliminate the salt completely. Also, I didn't have regular breadcrumbs, so I used a little shake n bake. Maybe that is why it is too salty. Something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esboyas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly but used my pastry brush to brush on the olive oil rather than drizzle it for more even coverage. Would never have thought of adding olive oil to the bread crumbs to crisp them up. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States