Baked Zucchini de Provence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Maybe explaining what is in Herbes de Provence would help those who can't find it in their stores. It contains a mix of ,dried Fennel, Rosemary, Thyme, and Lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really liked this! What a great presentation and I loved the crunchy bread crumb/cheese topping. I didn't EVEN pay attention to the amount of salt called for--it was obviously salt overkill. I just gave it a light sprinkling of salt and pepper. I made this two ways--one with the Herbes de Provence as called for, and the other with a Tuscan seasoning blend. While both were good, I much preferred the Tuscan seasoning. This was a nice departure from the typical, sauteed zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
i made this with the veggies that were on sale this week -- asparagus and yellow bell peppers -- and used only about 1/2 the olive oil. veggies stayed firm, FANTASTIC flavor, refreshing alternative to cheesy casseroles/boring steamed veggies. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Great flavor but extremely salty! I thought that 2 tsp. salt was too much and fortunately reduced it to 1 tsp. - and it was still extremely salty. Next time I'll probably reduce to 1/4 tsp. Could use less oil also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
If you're looking for a little different zucchini recipe, this is it! I arranged the zucchini in a beautiful quiche dish for a beautiful presentation. Followed the directions, but maybe didn't use as much oil for drizzling. Everyone loved it, even the kids!!! (herb de Provence can be found in the herb and spice section of your grocery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love these roasted veggies dishes. In France, we call them "tians". You can put just about any vegetable in them, whatever's in season. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I was cooking up a triple threat of herbs de provence for my wife, as she doubted we could ever use our jar of lavender. I already had a recipe for chicken and rice, so I needed a vegetable, and came across this gem. While we're not the biggest fans of using lavender in dinner, this baked zucchini recipe could use any sort of spice blend. This was the highlight of dinner, and is going to be our preferred method of serving zucchini. We almost ate it all before the chicken finished cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was pretty good. The top was the best part, so I think next time I'll add parmesan to all the layers instead of just the top. Also, after I finished cutting my zucchini, I noticed that there was no way all of that would fit in a regular 9 inch pie pan. I used a deep dish pie pan and it fit perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Good! Too much salt for us, so I cut back on it quite a bit. I also cut back the cooking time - I like my zucchini a little firmer. Thanks for the recipe, nice idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used a mandolin to slice my zucchini evenly. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that my herbs de provence were with garlic. (This works for my boyfriend and I as we are both garlic-aholics.) Maybe the squash was turning or we just didn't care for the herbs de provance with the squash. The topping was amazing and our favorite part. I didn't have crackers so I used the panko breadcrumbs that we did have in the cabinet. I'll try this again and see if the strange bitterness was from the seasoning or the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States