Baked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was really good base, and very easy. I used olive oil instead of butter, added a minced clove of garlic, and I also added yellow summer squash and pattypan to the zucchini (it all cooks the same) to add some additional color. It was very good, and a nice way to prepare some of that summer squash that we'll all have in excess pretty soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I put the sliced zucchini in a large zip lock bag and added 2 Tbsp olive oil instead of margarine. I added about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, the salt and pepper, and oregano. I shook the bag to coat all the ingredients and followed the other instructions exactly. My husband is a plain meat and potatoes kind of guy and doesn't usually like unique side dishes, but he loved this recipe alongside baked chicken. If my picky husband will try something new, this one's a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I used about 4 cups of chopped zucchini, (as 2 medium could be any size) I added mushrooms which give this already wonderful dish a hearty flavor and in addition to the 2T butter, I added a hint of olive oil to keep the butter from burning. I sprinkled the parmesan on top and baked in an oven a bit hotter than what was posted, along side the "Baked Salmon II" for our low-carb dinner. YUM & thanks! But I am surprised that the nutritional information hasn't been posted yet. The carbs for a one cup serving in the way I prepared it, is about 5 to 7 carbs, in my estimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
followed recommendation to use olive oil to make it healthier and garlic. I also used dried oregeno as I did not have fresh. Only problem with this recipe is I did not make enough - at least for me! YUMMY! However I like zucchini. Was not a hit with my 4 year old, the 2 year old liked it. I know, I know. I hafte when people review who did not follow the recipe as written, but I think it would have been great no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
In my haste to get supper on the table, I just realized that I totally forgot to put the Parmesan cheese on the zucchini, so my review is based on this dish without it. And I liked it! (Hubs, I know, preferred it that way anyway) Fresh oregano makes all the difference and, this time of year, I have a plentiful supply right out my back door! I thought the baking time was a bit long, but that could just be a matter of personal preference. I did use the butter, as called for, and find nothing not to like about it. I also couldn't help my myself and added a clove of minced garlic to the mix and liked that too. This is uncomplicated, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
LOVED it! Even my zucchini hating husband loved it and that's saying a LOT! I subbed extra virgin olive oil for the butter with great results and cut back on the cooking time by 5 or 10 minutes. The key here is to use freshly grated Parmesan cheese rather than the powdered junk... really doesn't take much time and definitely worth the little extra effort. A great new way to serve zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a great recipe to memorize and, as the review said, use with many entrees. I used butter and enjoyed it, but would use less next time. I think it's best to cut the zucchini in thicker pieces to it dosen't get too soggy in the butter or oil. This is a nice, simple combination of flavors - but it wont force anyone to like zucchini that dosent already enjoy it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mriefler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Made this recipe as our garden is really producing squash. I added sliced red potatoes with the skin on and some cajun seasoning and crushed red pepper, no oregano. It was fantastic, spicy and somewhat hot so go easy on the crushed red pepper. Thanks for a great basic recipe for yellow squash and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The only reason that I give this a four is because I felt like I should substitute olive oil for the butter in order to make it a little healthier. But, this is a phenomenal family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herkind

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Easy and quick to prepare so a definite winner in my book. To make it a bit healthier, I sprayed a cookie sheet with cooking spray, layed out the slices on the sheet and sprayed the tops of them with cooking spray, instead of using olive oil. Then I sprinkled them with the salt, pepper, oregano and parmesan. I also added generous sprinklings of garlic powder and red pepper flakes for more flavor and a kick. Delicious. Personally, I will skip the oregano next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States