Baked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I usually use other's recipes as conceptual starting points of exploration. Of course, unless it was a long time since I'd ingested saturated fats I wouldn't have used butter (and it was Thursday I had Swedish meatballs in cream sauce) so I used canola oil in the bottom of the baking dish. I didn't have fresh herbs, so used dried oregano, minced onion (used it all yesterday for green peppers and sesame marinated beef strips) and garlic salt, but did have freshly peeled garlic on hand. Family members are more used to tofu than cheese, so substituted cheese with two cans of chopped tomatoes and used a layer of crushed whole wheat crackers to line the bottom of the ceramic dish to sop up the juice generated in the microwave. I think a dusting of Parmesan cheese added a nice 'touch'. It was delicious with leftover green pepper steak, but anytime now that hot summer days are waning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I took other reviewers' suggestions: tossed with olive oil instead of butter, dried oregano, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in a plastic bag then spread on a baking sheet sprayed with olive oil. Baked at 375 (with convection) for 22 minutes (I had a time problem and needed them done sooner!). My kids who aren't zucchini fans weren't converted, but those of us who do like it loved the recipe. Next time I'm thinking half butter, half olive oil. Would have been 5 stars if it were something I lusted after - and I feel that way about very few vegetables :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This came out excellent My daughter and I really liked it. I added some garlic powder to it and it was really good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Made this recipe as our garden is really producing squash. I added sliced red potatoes with the skin on and some cajun seasoning and crushed red pepper, no oregano. It was fantastic, spicy and somewhat hot so go easy on the crushed red pepper. Thanks for a great basic recipe for yellow squash and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
followed recommendation to use olive oil to make it healthier and garlic. I also used dried oregeno as I did not have fresh. Only problem with this recipe is I did not make enough - at least for me! YUMMY! However I like zucchini. Was not a hit with my 4 year old, the 2 year old liked it. I know, I know. I hafte when people review who did not follow the recipe as written, but I think it would have been great no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
In my haste to get supper on the table, I just realized that I totally forgot to put the Parmesan cheese on the zucchini, so my review is based on this dish without it. And I liked it! (Hubs, I know, preferred it that way anyway) Fresh oregano makes all the difference and, this time of year, I have a plentiful supply right out my back door! I thought the baking time was a bit long, but that could just be a matter of personal preference. I did use the butter, as called for, and find nothing not to like about it. I also couldn't help my myself and added a clove of minced garlic to the mix and liked that too. This is uncomplicated, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a great recipe to memorize and, as the review said, use with many entrees. I used butter and enjoyed it, but would use less next time. I think it's best to cut the zucchini in thicker pieces to it dosen't get too soggy in the butter or oil. This is a nice, simple combination of flavors - but it wont force anyone to like zucchini that dosent already enjoy it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mriefler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My main complaint with this recipe is that it came out bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The only reason that I give this a four is because I felt like I should substitute olive oil for the butter in order to make it a little healthier. But, this is a phenomenal family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herkind

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I put the sliced zucchini in a large zip lock bag and added 2 Tbsp olive oil instead of margarine. I added about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, the salt and pepper, and oregano. I shook the bag to coat all the ingredients and followed the other instructions exactly. My husband is a plain meat and potatoes kind of guy and doesn't usually like unique side dishes, but he loved this recipe alongside baked chicken. If my picky husband will try something new, this one's a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States