Baked Ziti with Turkey Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe but I did almost everything differently. I used it more for inspiration. I did not have turkey so I used chicken for the meatballs. I did not have tomato sauce so I used rose sauce and threw in some fresh tomatoes. I did not have ricotta so I whipped half a cup of sour cream with half a cup of cream cheese. I did not have Ziti so I used radiatore. Other than that I followed the instructions:) The meatballs were tender and it was very creamy. The creamy sauce really cut dow on the acidity of the tomatoes. The meatballs were great. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I loved the pine nuts in the meatballs - I'm adding them to my recipe! I baked the meatballs at 450 (instead of frying)while the ziti cooked. I didn't have enough tomato sauce, so make sure you have plenty before starting. I also didn't have any mozzarella, so I didn't bother to bake the dish -- just combined the ziti, meatballs, sauce and ricotta, then served. It went over really well despite the changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was great! I love these little meatballs. We enjoyed it without the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was alright. The nuts gave it an odd flavor, and there was something lacking in the cheeses. My husband especially requested that I never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. Meatballs came out dry. Using jarred sauce is ok but I use fresh mozzarella and I use whole milk riccota. I have found many other recipes and this isn't worthy of a better rating than a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Quickly and easily feed masses of guests with this wonderfully simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We made just the meatballs and they were delicious, but didn't have pine nuts on hand. I'll make the whole recipe soon. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made only the meatballs to go with pasta primavera. I made as is, except added 1/4 cup of finely shredded asiago cheese. They were very good, but were missing a little bit of zip ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJC1637

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I was looking for a simple pasta recipe to use what I already had in the pantry and this was perfect! The meatballs were super tasty and tender and my brother and I devoured our huge portions. I did without the ricotta and the parsley because I didn't have those items. I used about a jar and a half of pasta sauce. Turned out great with enough left over for today's breakfast :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States