Baked Ziti IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
OK Everyone, I made this last night and it is a keeper !!! Very very good!!! I also did a few changes I used onions and green onions (tops only ). I added some red bell pepper, I used beef and sweet italian sausage. I was a little leary about the rosemary in this sauce, but what ever you do do not leave it out.(oh my god wonderful). Also use fresh rosemary, I used more garlic than call for ofcourse!!. I added basil and Italian seasoning to the meat mixture while cooking. After I added the sauce I added some red wine (a must). Also I added a teaspoon of sugar. Now I also used ricotta instead of cottage cheese, I used a Italian penne pasta (Imported kind found in supermarket). I was also not to sure about the sour cream I do not like it at all, but I used it. Also do not leave it out made a big difference. I layered mine and baked covered for 35 min then uncovered for 10 min more. I served with garlic bread and a soft white wine. HEAVEN!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Good stuff! This is a really strong recipe at its core. I would just modify some of the basic elements...especially step no. 4. Here are the recommendtions I would make to give this recipe a five star rating: 1. Mix the sour cream, cottage cheese, mozzarella and parmesan together in a bowl. 2. Mix the pasta into the meat sauce. After spraying the casserole dish with non-stick spray, layer half the pasta/meat sauce in the dish. Spread the cheese mix on top of the bottom layer. Layer the rest of the pasta/meat sauce on top. Finish the casserole by placing the six slices of Provolone cheese and then bake. Twenty minutes at 350 was perfect. Other changes I made: I used 28 ounces of home made tomato sauce. The recipe was not specific enough for me - it said, "1 1/2 (26 ounce) jars spaghetti sauce" ...So is that 26 ounces total? Or is it 39 ounces? Another change I made is I used a pound of ground beef since I did not have the pork sauage on hand. I think the sausage would make it even better. Anyway, this recipe will fullfil a lasagna craving with half the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Added some extra spices to the meat mixture--minced garlic. basil, oregeno,salt and pepper. Used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. Used 8 oz. of sour cream and 15 oz. of ricotta. Mixed everything together in a large pot, except for the provolone cheese. Put a small layer of sauce in the bottom of the pan, threw in half the ziti mixture, then the provolone, then the rest of the ziti. I have been making lasagna for years, and think from now on I will use this recipe....much easier to prepare. Was a bit leary of the sour cream, but texture was wonderful. My Italian husband said this was the best ziti he's ever had. My sons went NUTS over this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Mine turned out DELICIOUS. This was a great basic recipe. I made several additions/changes: I used ground beef and ground sweet Italian turkey sausage, removed from the casings. To the beef mixture, I added a pinch of dried rosemary, dried oregano, dried basil, and some red pepper flakes. For the cheese mixture, I didn't have sour cream, so I used softened 8 oz. cream cheese mixed with 8 oz. of ricotta cheese, mixed with 3/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese. After the sauce mix was done, I added about half of it to the cooked ziti, which I stopped boiling one minute before al dente. Barilla's ziti, which I used, is 10 mins to al dente, but I cooked it for 9 mins. It was perfect for the baked dish. Okay, so with half the sauce and beef mixed in with the pasta, I layered the pasta with sauce mix in a 9 x 13 pan, then placed the layer of provolone cheese on top of that. I then spread the cream cheese/ricotta mix on top of the provolone slices, then the rest of the pasta and sauce mix. After that, I poured the rest of the marinara/beef mix on it evenly. I had a bit of the cream cheese/ricotta mix left, so I dotted it on top of the last layer of sauce, then finished with a layer of mozzarella. I baked it at 400 F for 20 minutes, until the mozzarella was brown. It was a tasty meal. I think I prefer it over lasagna. My fiancé loved it, and ate two huge helpings. I only had one serving because my thighs are huge enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by siamesechin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
As a lasagna lover, I love this dish. Easier to make but tastes the same. Also substituted cottage cheese for the more traditional ricotta. Sprinkle on some oregano instead of rosemary for true Italian flavor. Note that the recipe puts ALL of each type of cheese on a certain layer, they are not repeated on subsequent layers (i.e., use all your ricotta/provolone on the first layer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Wow, this is good! I played with it a bit to make it a little more healthy and can't believe how good it turned out! I subsituted the beef and pork with ground turkey and hot turkey sausage, casings removed. I also used non-fat cottage cheese and sour cream. The only thing I'd do differently next time is I'd cut down on the amount of mozarella and provolone cheese - a little too much for my liking. All in all this got rave reviews from everyone who ate it...A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
WONDERFUL!! I was skeptical, cottage cheese?? Okay, I cut the recipe to serve 4. ATE the entire pan myself!! REMADE it for 8 so that the family could try. They loved it! So, I just finished eating the last morsel as I searched for new things to cook. Finding this site was a diaster I am getting nothing done but filling the freezer and running to the grocery store! LOVED IT.. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This turned out well. I used less ground beef and more sausage... went with a Spicy Italian. Browned the onion with the meat and the garlic, used 2 jars Barilla's Boscaiola Sauce (Mushroom and Garlic) and added 1 and 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary to the sauce. Mixed the sour cream (1/2 cup) with the ricotta (15 oz.) and the mozzarella (8 oz.) and parm along with 1 tsp. dried basil and a bit of S & P. I also added an egg to the cheese mixture. Layered some SAUCE FIRST, 1/2 pasta mixed with cheese, 1/2 provalone, more sauce, and repeated, topped with alot more sauce. You might need to open an extra jar. I needed a bit more, but I did use extra cheese. Great pot luck dish. I have used Barilla's Arrabiata Sauce in this as well, and it's really good, too. Tastes even better leftover. Thanks, Seth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I doubled the recipe but did not necessarily double all of the ingredients. Definitely altered it a bit. I used about 1 1/2lb of ground sirloin which I mixed with garlic, rosemary, basil, oregano and fresh parsley. Also par boiled 1lb of mild Italian sausage and then cut each link in half and then quarters which I then added to the sirloin mixture. I also used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Mixed the ricotta (15 oz) with about 8 oz of sour cream and 10oz of frozen chopped spinach (make sure it is thawed and all the water squeezed out). Very yummy! I did not use all of the cheese it calls for, mostly mozzarella but cut down on the amount of provolone. Did not layer just threw everything into a roaster (much better and easier to mix) and mixed all together. I did put about 1 inch of water on the bottom of roaster along with spraying Pam so there was no sticking. Since I am 100% Italian I made my own sauce and really used a ton of it (probably equivalent to 3 jars of store bought). Sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. Since I doubled I had to bake longer, about 50 minutes. Finishing touch was freshly grated parmesan cheese. Wow! What a hit. Everyone had seconds. Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was delicious. There is really nothing else I can say. I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States