Baked Ziti IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was amazing! I gave it 4 stars, b/c I did alter the recipe as follows: 1. Made my own tomato sauce w/ what I had on hand - a 28 oz can crushed tomatoes, 2t onion powder, 1 1/4t garlic powder, 1t sugar, 2t fresh basil, 1/2t dried oregano, 1t fresh rosemary, 1t salt, pepper to taste. 2. Cut back on the cheeses and sour cream - 1/2C each of sour cream and cottage cheese (blended these together before putting on first layer of noodles), omitted provolone, divided 8 oz mozzarella between the two layers, topped with recommended amount of parm. The rosemary really shines in this dish, and the flavors are wonderful! Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was really good. Like lasagna with a pleasant twist. And easier since you don't have to fiddle with lasagna noodles. I did use a bit more mozzarella than called for, but when it was done I think that was unnecessary. Whole family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved it. I thought it tasted great even as leftovers the next day. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I love this recipe! My kids call it lasagna and I make it more often since it's less time consuming. I followed some other suggestions and mix the sour cream, cottage cheese and parmesan together. I've also used cream cheese when I was out of sour cream (DELICIOUS). I serve it with homemade french bread and it is gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalieann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this tonight for my family and me, and it was very delicious. Unlike other Ziti recipes on this site, this one includes pork AS WELL AS beef, and also includes cottage cheese. It was very delicious, and worth the prep time. Also, it yields a very large amount, so very practical for entertaining guests, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Fantastic and reasonably easy recipe. I'll definitely make this again. The only thing I would change/add would be to make the top layer a nice full layer of provolone - that's how I'm used to seeing it in NYC. I used Paul Newman's Sweet Vidalia pasta sauce. The cooking time says 20-30 minutes and I recommend keeping it in the full 30 min unless your cheese looks like it's overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Enjoyed this a lot. Only thing I changed was to substitute turkey for beef because the wife can't eat beef. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Super yummy and the whole family enjoyed it...tell you the truth ..I was to get trying to get rid of the majority of a 16 oz container of fat free cottage cheese and this was perfect camouflage! We used fat free sour cream as well...but definately leave in the sausage for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cotati, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is great! I used homemade spaghetti sauce and gluten free penne, since my dad has celiac. We all really enjoyed it and I'll definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I've never like baked ziti before, until now! This recipe is ridiculously perfect! I had all the ingredients except ground beef (I used ground turkey) and I used ricotta. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States