Baked Ziti III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I added hot Italian Sausage to the dish. I also mixed the sour cream with the tomato sauce, and then layered the cheese in the casserole dish. I used the Sargento 6 Italian Cheese blend which worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is my go to recipe every year, as I am begged to make ziti every year for our Potluck Christmas party at work. Making it in a crockpot assures you won't have too much to fit in the pan, but you also won't get the perfect baked texture and you'll need to adjust your sauce to your desired dryness level. I tried this last year, and while enjoyed by all, I felt just the sour cream made it too twangy and I had tons left over. This year I made my sauce separate and let it stew awhile adding in spices/flavoring to my liking rather than just opening two generic cans of sauce. The sour cream is a nice touch but I used only just enough to "butter" my noodles with after boiling. I also felt ziti desparately needs ricotta so I replaced the sour cream in the middle with ricotta. A mixture of beef and italian sausage gives a more authentic flavor of ziti as well. There were 11 people total at our Christmas party this year and I barely had a serving to take home with me. Nevertheless, as written, the recipe is still very good and will get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Basically I followed the recipe (except I chose different cheeses in a greater quantity) and I agree with the other reviews ... toss the ziti around in the sour cream before layering. Awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I wasn't a fan of this dish. It was too dry and too sweet. I think if I make it again I will add more cheese, and use a homemade sauce instead of a jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I agree with the other reviewer that said to mix the sour cream with the pasta to keep it from drying out. I thought it needed some salt, but the kids and husband disagreed with me, so there you go… LOL. I was also too lazy to cut and sauté the onion so I used an envelope of Lipton onion soup mix. I have made it exactly as written before and it's a FIVE star recipe. I've also added cottage cheese before when I had extra that was getting kind of… old. I've also made it with elbow macaroni before. It's a very versatile dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Loved it made it for my family last night I also mixed the sour cream with the ziti and it was amazing I also used 8oz of cheese instead of six and it turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmikca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My family loved this dish. It is very tastey and easy to make. I prepared ahead, covered and put in refrigerator until time to bake. Next time I make it, I think I will add some sliced black olives and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe completely because I had a bunch of random packs of cheese with small amounts left in them. So for me, this recipe worked well as a way to use up leftover shredded/sliced cheeses, I also added dried red pepper flakes to the sauce for a little spice and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esrodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was amazing! I did add sour cream before layering but that was the only thing I did different from the recipe. This is now a family favorite and gets requested by the little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama2521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was out of this world. I usually make baked ziti with ricotta, but didn't have any this time, so I tried this method. I've had the recipe in my recipe box for years, but never was adventurous enough to give it a try. All I can say is--Wow! So much better than my other recipe. I squeezed 2 or 3 sausages out of their casings and added that to the ground beef; I also added some mushrooms that I wanted to use. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Sorry, baked ziti purists, but I don't think I'll ever make it with ricotta again--this was so creamy and delicious. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Try it--you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States