Baked Ziti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I would give this 3.5 stars. The method was easy which was nice and it tasted as good or better than any other baked ziti I have made but I think I am just not a fan of baked ziti. In this recipe as well as any other I've tried, the ziti gets too soft and mushy for my taste. Next time I'm going to try this without the ricotta which I have decided might be what bothers me the most about baked ziti, I just don't like the texture of the ricotta mixed with tomato sauce and mushy ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This had the flavor of lasagna without all the work. I added some ground beef, because I had it, and mixed it with the pasta and sauce. I put that on the bottom, then added the ricotta mixed with parmesan, then finished it off with a layer of mozzerella. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Really easy to make and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this! Love how the cheese is all stringy with each bite! A little bland, I would reccommend adding more italian seasoning. I used a Bertolli sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is a family favorite. It's really good with a mixed Italian cheese and extra sauce. This recipe makes a ton for us. We always have leftover night with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
As suggested I cut the ricotta cheese in half and doubled the sauce. Also "layered" the ingredients. Used sweet Italian sausage patties (1 lb). We will make it again as everyone liked it and it certainly couldn't have been easier. Only other thing I'll do is to mix the sauce with the ziti first as the family said it didn't go into the holes!! Thanks for an easy dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I also cut the ricotta back to 1/2. I also thought it seemed a little dry, but didn't have any more sauce (other than reserved for topping) so I added a can of tomato sauce and some Italian seasoning. I'm glad I did because it really would have been dry. I also was a little concerned about the nutritional info given too... It claims to have over 72 carbs per serving. Even with a whole 16 oz box of pasta, divided into 8 servings (according to box) plus the few carbs for the sauce and cheese, I only came up with about 49 carbs per serving. Thats a difference of 23 carbs -and for some- an extra unit of insulin. I am new here so maybe I am not reading the nutritional info correctly? Either way... it's a make again dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Not a bad recipe. Easy to do and tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was OK. We made this for dinner last night. I think it definitely needed more sauce and less ricotta cheese. Next time, follow some of the other reviewers and use 15 oz of Ricotta and maybe increase the mozzarella cheese for a more melted cheese effect. It also lacked some flavor. Make sure you either choose a very flavorful sauce or add some Italian seasonings to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantodd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
The ricotta cheese was wonderful! My mom thought it was too cheesy (too much mozz?) but I thought it was perfect. We made our own homemade tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States