Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I only have one word for you-AMAZING! Every single person who tried this came up to me asking for the recipe (those who knew I cooked it, that is--others thought I had it brought in from a restaurant!) A few notes: 1. I had to omit the meat since my crowd wasn't a meat eating crowd, but I still browned the onion for about five minutes and simmered the onion with the sauce for about ten minutes in a skillet. You DEFINITELY need two jars of sauce, if you are thinking its too much--it's not. 2. I used Bertoli Tomato and Basil canned sauce. 3. I read all the reviews before cooking this and followed the recommendation to layer it a bit differently. Instead of leaving the bottom layer of ziti "un-sauced", I mixed the bottom layer of ziti with 1/3 the sauce before then layering the provolone and the sour cream. I then mixed the next layer of ziti with 1/3 of the sauce, followed by the mozerella mixed with the remaining 1/3 of sauce and the parmesan cheese. I covered it, baked it at 350 degrees for exactly thirty minutes, and VOILA! Instant masterpiece!!! I am so glad that allrecipes.com gives users like me a chance to read reviews for tips and tricks---the layering was genius! I will be bringing this to work from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hackett

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a very very good recipe. The sour cream really brings it together. The only change I made was to put a bit of mozzarella on top and under the broiler for a toasted top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was scrumptious! I made it almost exactly like the recipe, except I used ground turkey, fresh sliced mozzarella, added garlic, and layered it differently. My husband loved it and couldn't get enough! I was actually out of foil at the time so I was not able to cover it while it baked, but I just made sure to add enough sauce to the top to keep it from drying out and that worked perfectly. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Outstanding. I needed a little more time in the oven to get everything melted together, and I still didn't get the sour cream completely melted, but it didn't matter as it still tasted great. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is awesome and simple. I added Italian seasoning, onion power and two cloves of minced garlic to the beef when I was browning it. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Of course, I covered the dish while baking, too. This is a great, hearty meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Didn't have Ziti, so I used penne pasta and it was so easy and delicious! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I also did Ricotta instead of Sour Cream, I didn't use provolone I just used Mozzarella! I layered it like Lasagne and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qtewashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My husband loved this! The provolone was a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have made this numerous times. The first time was made exactly like the recipe, the second time I added more cheeses. I added Monterey Jack, cream cheese, and ricotta cheese. I also grated 4 cloves of garlic and added it to the ground beef and Italian sausage. This was such a hit with everyone that has eaten it. My picky 2 year old even ate it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States