Baked Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have read this recipe again and again and have been so intrigued. I love carrots and think they don't get the attention they deserve. Finally made the recipe and all three of us really, really liked it. So different and a fresh new way to get our carrots. I used fresh carrots rather than frozen. Had some of the horseradish mixture left over and used it on roast beef a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was super good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe exactly as printed. I did not like the "mushiness" of the pre-cooked carrots, and the horseradish level was a little high for me, and I like sparky! I did like the idea of adding cream to the mixture, but I added a little less, so the dish would not be too "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I bet this is really good if you do NOT use frozen carrots!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was awful, had no flavor, was very bland, not impressed with this at all. I will stick to my mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very yummy you need to soften the carrots before you put in the oven otherwise it takes forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these for Christmas dinner but I added some parsnips and steamed everything before assembling. I like my carrots to still be tendercrisp so I only steamed them for about 10-15 mins. I would add more horseradish as I am a fan but my BF mum is not so much and this dish was perfect for her. I didn't have cornflakes so I used some whole-wheat crackers that I ground in my food processor for the topping and it worked great. 3 stars as is but with more horseradish I would rate this 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Silver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Looks interesting. Odd, no mention of broccoli in the recipe but there it is in the photo. Taking it (-broccoli) to a church function will rate later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I really liked the flavor of the carrots, but the sauce and breadcrumbs did NOTHING for me. I ended up scraping it all off and just eating the carrots. No one else would eat this, even after scraping off the cream/topping and my son usually loves carrots. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittygrl19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I liked this recipe b/c carrots are something I never know what to do with to make them different. I like spicy food, so the amount of horseradish was almost not enough for me, I will try extra next time. I chopped fresh carrots and cooked about 20 minutes, they needed either a longer cooking time or to be steamed halfway or so first. I did not have cornflakes so I used breadcrumbs, I think potato chips would be good to try. Also, I did not have light cream so I used 1/4 cup heavy cream and a 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States