Baked Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I've made this numerous times. My husband loves it. I've always steamed fresh carrots instead of frozen. Have also used crushed Ritz crackers, regular crackers and shredded wheat. Never had the cornflakes. The Ritz crackers are the best. Only added the salt once. Doesn't need it. Used fat free milk, mayo and margarine. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Skansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This recipe is good, but I'll make it differently next time. In my opinion, the recipe calls for too much mayonnaise. Next time, I'll use half the amount. I used fresh baby carrots. I crumbled more topping on than the recipe called for, and less butter. The topping was really good. I know I'll love this dish the next time around, when it's not so "thick" with mayonnaise. (One other note: The recipe indicates to pour the sauce over the carrots. I would recommend mixing it all together before putting it in your baking dish. It doesn't pour well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Delicious recipe! However, don't do as one reviewer suggested and cut down on the mayo. The sauce made "as is" was perfectly pourable...just right. I did add the horseradish "to taste" as I made the sauce to please my husband's palate. It was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
We used fresh baby carrots that we boiled for 4 minutes, then proceeded with the recipe. I loved it (and I don't usually like recipes with horseradish). But, my husband said it was "just okay." Even though I only gave it four stars, I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I scaled this down to 2 servings, because I wanted to taste it before serving to the pickies. I thought it was really good. I did cut the mayo a bit, but it still had a nice tang. Will make again with fish. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
We loved it! I used fresh carrots instead of frozen and it turned out great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was excellent! I loved it, my husband REALLY loved it and even my son loved it! Then I took the leftovers that night out to my Aunt and Grandfather and they loved it! I used just sliced frozen carrots and they did need to cook about 15 minutes longer to get warm all the way through. Other than that it was excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This recipe is really delicious. I really enjoyed it, though the people that don't like horseradish or mayonaise did not. More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I really liked the flavor of this! The second time I made it, I did make a few adjustments. Used milk instead of cream, cut down the mayo and butter by half and used crushed saltine crackers. I also used fresh carrots that I partially steamed before baking so it wouldn't take quite so long for them to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a tradition in our family! The horsradish isn't overwhelming and a much tastier alternative to boring baked, boiled or steamed carrots. I always use bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mardell Mitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States