Baked Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I have read this recipe again and again and have been so intrigued. I love carrots and think they don't get the attention they deserve. Finally made the recipe and all three of us really, really liked it. So different and a fresh new way to get our carrots. I used fresh carrots rather than frozen. Had some of the horseradish mixture left over and used it on roast beef a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was super good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe exactly as printed. I did not like the "mushiness" of the pre-cooked carrots, and the horseradish level was a little high for me, and I like sparky! I did like the idea of adding cream to the mixture, but I added a little less, so the dish would not be too "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I bet this is really good if you do NOT use frozen carrots!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was awful, had no flavor, was very bland, not impressed with this at all. I will stick to my mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very yummy you need to soften the carrots before you put in the oven otherwise it takes forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these for Christmas dinner but I added some parsnips and steamed everything before assembling. I like my carrots to still be tendercrisp so I only steamed them for about 10-15 mins. I would add more horseradish as I am a fan but my BF mum is not so much and this dish was perfect for her. I didn't have cornflakes so I used some whole-wheat crackers that I ground in my food processor for the topping and it worked great. 3 stars as is but with more horseradish I would rate this 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Silver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Looks interesting. Odd, no mention of broccoli in the recipe but there it is in the photo. Taking it (-broccoli) to a church function will rate later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I really liked the flavor of the carrots, but the sauce and breadcrumbs did NOTHING for me. I ended up scraping it all off and just eating the carrots. No one else would eat this, even after scraping off the cream/topping and my son usually loves carrots. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittygrl19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I liked this recipe b/c carrots are something I never know what to do with to make them different. I like spicy food, so the amount of horseradish was almost not enough for me, I will try extra next time. I chopped fresh carrots and cooked about 20 minutes, they needed either a longer cooking time or to be steamed halfway or so first. I did not have cornflakes so I used breadcrumbs, I think potato chips would be good to try. Also, I did not have light cream so I used 1/4 cup heavy cream and a 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States