Baked Yam Fries with Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Can't go wrong with sweet potato fries. I poked mine with a fork all over and microwaved it for a minute or so to make it easier to slice (leave skin on). I ended up turning up my oven to get more browning (I like mine crispy)...made it 400 near the end when I noticed they weren't to my liking. I made my own sauce based on what I had and it was really good. Used vanilla yogurt (but any flavour yogurt will do!) in place of the sour cream and whipped dressing instead of mayo. For seasoning I added some chili powder and cumin to my taste. I am updating quantities as I made it again yesterday and it is probably 2/3 whipped dressing to 1/3 yogurt and 1 tsp each for sprices. Again, try it and adjust to your preferences :) Boyfriend asked me to remember that sauce...he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I LOVE love LOVE these Yam fries...I don't usually put seasoning salt on them as it might make the fries even more sweet. and I don't like adding extra salt to anything if it doesn't need it... the greatest thing about this superfood my KIDS LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am a baked sweet potato fanatic! I LOVE THESE:) and make them whenever the mood strikes. I just wash them up, slice, season and bake, peel and all! Really good and Super good for you! Thank You Marleymg! No need to tell ya I will keep making these. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
An easier method is to toss the yam or sweet potato wedges with olive oil or sesame oil along with sea salt into a zip lock bag, making sure the yams are well coated, then arrange on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent - I grated course sea salt on the baking pan, and set oven at 420 degrees until tender in the middle. For the sauce I added some smoky chipoltle poweder and a little texas pete. These are the best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Yum, Perfect combo of sweet and tangy. This dip is really good and so simple, it does get better the longer it sits. I grilled my yams b/c it's to hot to turn the oven on (plus I love grilled veggies!). I tossed them in one tbsp OO, 1 tsp honey, salt and pepper to taste first, then grilled (around 20 min, flippin half way on my charcoal grill). Easy and delicious, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Awesome! Loved the sauce (but I used more like 1 tsp. of taco seasoning!) I also used sweet potatoes and my son gobbled them up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used a homemade cajun seasoning salt and I tripled the "dip" as my boys are dip hogs. My kids and I loved these though my husband was just not a fan (too bad for him). but the spice really does need to be increased. I had no issues with soggy or burned fries and this recipe was easy to increase/decrease without causing the recipe to suffer which I appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I've never made yam fries but I bought some I really needed to us. The season salt was...okay on them. The sweetness shined through so it was a nice contrast. It did take longer then 25 minutes, and even though the yams looked done, they were very soggy to pick up, so I turned the heat on the oven up to 350 degrees to help get a crisp edge on them to pull off the pan. The dip was fine but mild in flavor, so I added an additional tsp of taco seasoning and it turned out prefect. However. I tasted the yam with the dip before tweaking and I didn't really think the dip matched up with yams. Yams were good, Dip was good...just didn't seem to think they went together well. But that's my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm always looking for savory sweet potato recipes and this one was super easy and tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States