Baked Yam Fries with Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Can't go wrong with sweet potato fries. I poked mine with a fork all over and microwaved it for a minute or so to make it easier to slice (leave skin on). I ended up turning up my oven to get more browning (I like mine crispy)...made it 400 near the end when I noticed they weren't to my liking. I made my own sauce based on what I had and it was really good. Used vanilla yogurt (but any flavour yogurt will do!) in place of the sour cream and whipped dressing instead of mayo. For seasoning I added some chili powder and cumin to my taste. I am updating quantities as I made it again yesterday and it is probably 2/3 whipped dressing to 1/3 yogurt and 1 tsp each for sprices. Again, try it and adjust to your preferences :) Boyfriend asked me to remember that sauce...he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I LOVE love LOVE these Yam fries...I don't usually put seasoning salt on them as it might make the fries even more sweet. and I don't like adding extra salt to anything if it doesn't need it... the greatest thing about this superfood my KIDS LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am a baked sweet potato fanatic! I LOVE THESE:) and make them whenever the mood strikes. I just wash them up, slice, season and bake, peel and all! Really good and Super good for you! Thank You Marleymg! No need to tell ya I will keep making these. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
An easier method is to toss the yam or sweet potato wedges with olive oil or sesame oil along with sea salt into a zip lock bag, making sure the yams are well coated, then arrange on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent - I grated course sea salt on the baking pan, and set oven at 420 degrees until tender in the middle. For the sauce I added some smoky chipoltle poweder and a little texas pete. These are the best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Yum, Perfect combo of sweet and tangy. This dip is really good and so simple, it does get better the longer it sits. I grilled my yams b/c it's to hot to turn the oven on (plus I love grilled veggies!). I tossed them in one tbsp OO, 1 tsp honey, salt and pepper to taste first, then grilled (around 20 min, flippin half way on my charcoal grill). Easy and delicious, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Awesome! Loved the sauce (but I used more like 1 tsp. of taco seasoning!) I also used sweet potatoes and my son gobbled them up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used a homemade cajun seasoning salt and I tripled the "dip" as my boys are dip hogs. My kids and I loved these though my husband was just not a fan (too bad for him). but the spice really does need to be increased. I had no issues with soggy or burned fries and this recipe was easy to increase/decrease without causing the recipe to suffer which I appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I've never made yam fries but I bought some I really needed to us. The season salt was...okay on them. The sweetness shined through so it was a nice contrast. It did take longer then 25 minutes, and even though the yams looked done, they were very soggy to pick up, so I turned the heat on the oven up to 350 degrees to help get a crisp edge on them to pull off the pan. The dip was fine but mild in flavor, so I added an additional tsp of taco seasoning and it turned out prefect. However. I tasted the yam with the dip before tweaking and I didn't really think the dip matched up with yams. Yams were good, Dip was good...just didn't seem to think they went together well. But that's my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm always looking for savory sweet potato recipes and this one was super easy and tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States