Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I have made this dish several times, usually when I need something a little different. It is great with bbq meats and pork and everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I was really excited when I found this recipe, but it didn't live up to my expectations. The flavors didn't do it for my family. We ended up tossing the leftovers which were plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe was great - it's first savory sweet potato dish I've had, and I definitely like more than the candied sweet potatoes. I would recommend a few alterations though - Omit the breadcrumbs, they're not necessary. Bake for 30 min without the cheese, then add cheese, and bake for 30 min more so cheese doesnt buurn. Next time I might add some cheese between the layers of potatoes. I definitely will want to make this again with the alterations I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I made stock from our Thanksgiving turkey, and used it in this recipe - which is now my favourite way to eat sweet potato. I used grated emmenthal on top instead of mozzarella. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This recipe is excellent...everyone we have served it to just fell in love with it. It's a good way to serve sweet potatoes to people who don't like a strong sweet potato flavor. The only changes I made were changing the broth to chicken and using Monterey Jack cheese instead of Mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I made this for Christmas dinner and it turned out great. I added 1/4 C whipping cream to the flour and broth that is poured over the potatoes. It was very yummy and I would definately make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
What a great change from the usual sweet potato casserole. I used more sweet potatoes than white and also mixed chicken broth and half and half and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I thought this was wonderful!!! I followed the recipe for the most part, but made one addition. I mixed in some heavy whipping cream with the vegetable broth and flour. I got rave reviews on this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Our family loved this receipe. However I dont feel it needs as much butter. The sweet potatoes make it sweet enough and you can save on calories. I also used chicken broth and it gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This dish was a satisfying side dish. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit. I will make it for our Christmas dinner too. Very tender and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States