Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
We tried this recipe for a dinner party and it was a hit. Everyone asked for the recipe. We were generous with onion and used a mix of shredded cheeses - provolone, mozzarella, and parmesan. We cooked it longer than stated in the recipe, about 1 hour and 45 minutes. Will use this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
OMG ..... I love this recipe and it's an excellent way to get the husband to eat yams!! A new rule for this recipe is ...... to make a double batch. It just keeps disappearing!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I think maybe I am just used to having my sweet potatoes being very sweet and dessert-like. I wasn't too fond of this recipe. It was okay but I think I am going to stick to the SWEET sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGuthrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
It turned out great! Best advice I used: Peel sweet potatoes and cut thicker than white. Sprinkle each row with a little cheese. (Top sweet potatoes with mozzerella and white with pepper jack.) Chopped onions, but I think thin slices would be good too. Add top layer of cheese at the end of bake time. Omit broth and just added a little more butter. Subbed chopped cooked bacon and onions for bread crumb topping. I made this in a 9x13 pan so it took a lot of potatoes and probably 1 1/2 hours to cook. I also cranked up the heat to 400 for last 1/2 hour. Just cook until it is tender with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was fantastic!!!! I heeded the advice of others and decided to use both cheeses on each layer with mozzarella on the yams and pepper jack on the white potatoes. I also sliced the white potatoes thinner than the yams. The flavor was absolutely wonderful and actually reminded me of scalloped potatoes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is without a doubt the BEST potato casserol I have ever had. We are not at all fond of yams/sweet potatoes, but this is amazing. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've been looking for a pure yam or Sweet-potato recipe for years of Thanksgiving dinners. Hooray for Holly! Her comments were identical to my thoughts and I'm glad she submitted a yam recipe that make them taste exactly like they are supposed to be cooked and how they taste. Where did all that added sugar in everyone's recipe come from? I've hated marshmallows all my life. None of my young friends liked them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty good dish, none of us were crazy about it - it seemed to lack something. Would be good with bacon pieces, will try that if I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I tripled this and put it in a large baking dish for Easter. I had extra whipping cream, so used a little as part of the broth. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used only sweet potatoes and omitted the bread crumbs. Cooking time was more like 45 minutes. This was an excellent dish. So much more satisfying than the sugary sweet potato recipes I am used to! Will make this a holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States