Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I grew up with brown sugar and marshmallow food that my relatives made but I am happier with the savory take on this one. I would change a thing about it. The potatoes were moist and delicious with the onion, cheese and bread crumbs. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Good as reviewed. Did take other reviews to add garlic, hot sauce, cheese in each layer vs 2 c on top about the same amount overall. Also used Monterey cheese. Now our favorite very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I used 4 white and 4 sweet potatoes, doubled the liquid, flour and bread crumbs, used colby jack cheese instead but left everything else the same. It did take 1 1/2 hours to bake and tasted great but was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
loved it - was looking for a good way to use up a few leftover sweet potatoes and regular potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I veganized it with Daiya cheez and it came out great. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. I'll be making this again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjlaramie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
We tried this recipe for a dinner party and it was a hit. Everyone asked for the recipe. We were generous with onion and used a mix of shredded cheeses - provolone, mozzarella, and parmesan. We cooked it longer than stated in the recipe, about 1 hour and 45 minutes. Will use this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
OMG ..... I love this recipe and it's an excellent way to get the husband to eat yams!! A new rule for this recipe is ...... to make a double batch. It just keeps disappearing!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I think maybe I am just used to having my sweet potatoes being very sweet and dessert-like. I wasn't too fond of this recipe. It was okay but I think I am going to stick to the SWEET sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGuthrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
It turned out great! Best advice I used: Peel sweet potatoes and cut thicker than white. Sprinkle each row with a little cheese. (Top sweet potatoes with mozzerella and white with pepper jack.) Chopped onions, but I think thin slices would be good too. Add top layer of cheese at the end of bake time. Omit broth and just added a little more butter. Subbed chopped cooked bacon and onions for bread crumb topping. I made this in a 9x13 pan so it took a lot of potatoes and probably 1 1/2 hours to cook. I also cranked up the heat to 400 for last 1/2 hour. Just cook until it is tender with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States