Baked Whole Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This dish tasted a lot like flan, and the pumpkin added a real nice touch. It took a little longer to bake and set than the recipe called for. I recommend taking off the pumpkin lid, my custard didn't set until I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous! Finished cooking in microwave as pumpkin was cooked but custard not set! It was however gorgeous, the custard did not look grey as I grated my nutmeg myself instead of using ready grinded one which may be responsible for the grey custard some had. Pumpkin started to slpit as it had to cook so much more for custard to set so I presented it with a pretty sash tied round it an no one noticed the problem. I will in future start cooking the custard in a pan and put semi-set in pumpkin. Also I recommand cooking the lid separately, upside down on the baking sheet as it seems partly responsible for custard taking so long to set. On the whole I strongly recommand this recipe, it was a hit here in France and dinners ate the whole lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I had a lot of trouble with this recipe. Although I followed the directions to the letter, the custard never solidified at all. As a matter of fact, I even cooked the pumpkin as long as possible (without it disentegrating) and still the custard did not form! The pumpkin seemed to make an excellent insulator against the heat of the oven. I had to end up pouring the custard mixture into a saucepan, and cooking it that way. Then I returned it to the pumpkin. It did make a lovely centerpiece on the dinner table, and I enjoyed it very much. However, some friends were turned off when I scooped some of the pumpkin onto their plate and they would only eat the actual pumpkin. All the kids loved it though! Overall: Yummy but too much work. I will try thinning the pumpkin more next time, in hopes of improving the cooking time. Yes, I will try it again! If still no luck, I will stick to pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
It LOOKED impressive, but that's all you can say about this recipe. It took an hour longer to bake than recipe calls for and custard was an unappetizing gray. Find a better use for your pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Be careful to lift the top off from the flesh, not the stem; it's easy to break it off and it's so pretty served with that stem on! Friends fought to take home the leftovers. I baked it an extra 20 minutes; leave yourself ample time! Very egg-y but we loved it as dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was very good. I actually give it 4-4.5 stars for taste, but the presentation is so nice that I had to give it 5 stars. The custard looked a just little greyish to me, and it took longer to cook than expected. I wonder if anyone has used 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream? I'll make it again, it's too pretty not to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
Fast, easy, fun and delicious! The kids loved it, but not quite as much as I did! Thanks for making one of your family traditions one of ours. Happy Thanksgiving to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I was worried about the custard not solidifing but it did, was tasty and pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was soooo yummy and it made a wonderful centerpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
We preferred it served over a pumpkin bread. If you really like custard then you would like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States