Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Before making this recipe I read most of the reviews. Here is what I did to infuse flavor into the cauliflower. I cut the cauliflower into bite-size pieces and simmered it in chicken broth until tender crisp, drained it, then tossed the cauliflower with the bread crumb topping. I transfered the whole mixture to a buttered casserole. Drizzled with some extra virgin olive oil and a sprinkling of Locatelli Romano cheese. Positively DELICIOUS, everyone LOVED it, and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Best cauliflower ever!!! I tested this out on just the 2 of us - cooking it whole - I was skeptical on how it would be to serve. TRY IT - it is really easy and I think will definitely be a conversation piece at the table. My guy looooved it! I followed recipe exactly except I took the suggestions of other submitters and brushed the butter on the caulifower and then added the dry crumbs mixed with seasonings. It adhered easily. When it comes out of the oven - just put it on a plate and serve it with a spoon - it is so tender. P.S. I steamed mine hrs. in advance and when the roast was almost done put on the final touches and popped it in the oven. This is a KEEPER!! Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and loved it! The first time I also had a little trouble getting the bread coating to stick to the sides. That was a little disappointing cause the presentation would be much improved with a nice, over all golden coating. The second time I made it I used a bar-b-que marinade brush and brushed melted butter over the entire head and THEN coated it. PROBLEM SOLVED! Great presentation! My husband LOVES it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used the suggestion of another member and cut the cauliflower into pieces and then simmered it in chicken broth until tender. I then drained it, tossed it with the mixture and baked as directed. It was a HUGE hit! My husband ate all but the one serving that I ate at dinner tonight! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
The secret to having cauliflower with flavor is steaming/simmering it in chicken broth. Then put it in the oven with the breadcrumb mixture. Yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is the most delicious recipe I've ever tried. I took the advice of one of the reviewers, and cut the head into large pieces. I "steamed" it in the microwave. It was hard to get the mixture to stick, so on my second try (the head was big enough to make two "cookings")I melted the butter and drizzled it over the cauliflower. Then I mixed the remaining ingredients together & sprinkled them over before baking.This worked well and came out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Loved this! I cut up & micro steamed the cauliflower (in a pampered chef micro steamer) which took minutes then baked it....YUM! I will next time drizzle the butter and then the bread crumbs as others have suggested, but the taste of the end result is ohh so yummy! Thanks Ariela!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Hooray...I have found a new way to prepare cauliflower. My hubby and I love veggies, and cauliflower is at the top of our list. Steaming and stir-frying were getting old, but this is my favorite new way to prepare it. I absolutely love this. Can't say much for the kids. I don't think my four year old would even touch this if I drowned it in chocolate, but he's like that with everything. I too cut mine into florets and poured the butter over and sprinkled on the rest. I'm looking forward to making this one again. Thanks so much Ariela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Although the cauliflower took a long time to steam, we really enjoyed this dish. Even the veggie-haters at our table were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I served this dish for dinner tonight and we really enjoyed it:~)The flavor was excellent. I will however make a few changes next time as the crumb topping did not want to stay on the cauliflower head. If it's steamed a little more, the florettes pried open and the crumb mixture sprinkled inside as well as on top and use little more butter I think they should stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Truffled Cauliflower Gratin

See how to make cauliflower gratin with truffle pecorino.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States