Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Had a similar dish at a 5-start restaurant in Chicago several years ago, and have been looking for a good recipe. THIS IS IT! However, I used butter, not margarine, one large clove minced fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder, and omitted the salt. The Kraft grated cheese I used gave it enough salty flavor. I basted the steamed cauliflower head with the garlic butter, then used the remainder of the butter to mix all the other ingredients together before pressing onto the cauliflower head. I think next time I will steam it for only 10 minutes, since I don't like it so mushy. Also, I used a quiche baker to help dry out some of the liquid from the steaming. THANK YOU THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Let's just say I love this recipe and leave it at that! I've made this recipe 4-5x which is many times. I tried to cut the cauliflower into smaller pieces, but it's a bit messier. The more 'topping' the better and you will turn non-believers into cauliflower lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Loved it and easy to make. Great for people who are not big fans of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iva Jackson-Ketchum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It seems like an awful lot of work and my family just thought it was mediocre, but we do enjoy just steaming our cauliflower and eating it with a little salt and pepper... we would rather just do that from now on but this was worth a try, I mean any decent recipe is worth trying at least once :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good. I separated the cauliflower into florets, microwaved them for 8 minutes, and then coated w/the butter/breadcrumb mixture and cooked in the oven for about 15 minutes. The breadcrumb mixture was DELICIOUS and I'll use the recipe for other veggies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I did alter this recipe because I didn't have a steamer. I cut up the cauliflower, blanched, and continued cooking as is. Next time, I would love to see the final result of a whole baked cauliflower. It was tasty but my final product turned out too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
i modified this for my kids... left out the red pepper flakes and added about 1/2 of shredded cheddar cheese. i put the cheese on before the bread crumbs. they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this and my hubby loved it! Since I didn't have anything to steam the caulifolwer I cut it up placed in a microwave safe bowl added 2 tblsp water, covered heat 3 min stir, heat another 3 min stir then covered with seasoning and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My family is not cauliflower eaters, but we ended up with a head of it, so I tried this. It was a hit! everyone ate it - except the picky-two-year-old. I ended up using less margarine than called for and it was still good. Next time I think I will omit the red pepper, may help the 2-yr-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Try it didn't care for it. won't try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Truffled Cauliflower Gratin

See how to make cauliflower gratin with truffle pecorino.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States