Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
eh, i was expecting something better. from all the good reviews, idk what i was expecting really but it wasn't that great. kind'a flavorless for me. i mean, i like cauliflower and i eat it steamed all the time, but this made me feel like it should taste like something well seasoned yet it wasn't there. i only did half a head and i'm glad of it. perhaps if i would have used the other's tips and steamed it in broth(which i've never done, should have tried it here though) it would have had that extra kick of flavor i needed. i even added extra cheese on top to give it more flavor. still, it wasn't even close. i rather have it plain. still, 3 stars 'cause i liked the idea of putting a sort of topping/crust on steamed veggies. i just need something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made a few changes, and really liked this recipe. I did steam the cauliflower whole for 20 minutes, as it was quite large. Afterward, once it had cooled down a little I broke it into pieces and discarded the core. I put the florets in a large bowl and mixed in enough olive oil to coat the pieces, about 1 Tb oregano, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, also adding about 1 Tb dried onion flakes; it really needed more spices! I added the breadcrumbs and cheese and spread it out in a baking dish, covering the top with shredded mozzarella. I baked it at 375 for probably 20 minutes until the cheese started to brown. So I took out the butter, but added more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Holy moly! This is fabulous. I grew up on fried cauliflower and the taste is so similar! I steamed whole for 20 minutes and then brushed with butter...sprinkled on the bread crumbs and baked as stated. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
good but needs more cheese and the bread crumbs didnt really hold to the cauliflower maybe that just was do to under cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very neat, I made my own homemade bread crumsb in our food proccesor. It made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I probably shouldn't be rating this particular recipe because i changed it .. but here are some suggestions.. mine came out fantastic. cut the cauliflower into floweretts, steam until 3/4 way done.. drizzle with evoo.. in seperate bowl mix panko bread crumbs, fresh parmesan cheese, and just a few tblspns of canned parm cheese.. toss with cauliflower and bake for 20 miinutes on 375 or until golden brown.. absolutely fantastic.. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wow, this was great. Took another's suggestion and cut into smaller pieces & steamed with 1/4 chicken broth. Put in ziplock & dredged with olive oil then put in the dry mixture & baked for 20 - 30 minutes. It was FABULOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I swayed just a tad from making this recipe as written. I was after a healthier version of fried cauliflower that I love so much and won't make because of the fat content. I mixed all the dry ingredients in a small bowl. I cut my cauliflower into bite size pieces and cooked for about 4 minutes until tender crisp. I then put the cauliflower in a Ziploc bag and added olive oil and tossed to coat. I added the dry ingredients to the bag and coated all the cauliflower. Baked until crispy, which took about 20-30 minutes. It was a very good alternative to the fried cauliflower. I will adjust the seasonings to my taste the next time. I did add more parmesan cheese to the top of the finished product (Yum). All in all this is a very easy and tasty way to make cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe for baked cauliflower is DELICIOUS! I precooked the cauliflower in my Microwave Oven. I added 1/2 cup of water to a glass dish, added cauliflower, cut in half and covered with a lid....cooking 13 minutes. I used Panko bread crumbs mixed with some Lawry's seasoning salt in place of the seasoned bread crumbs. Combined with the rest of "step 2" the topping was absolutely perfect. Like another viewer, I chopped the cooked cauliflower a bit before adding the topping. Can't wait to serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is so good. I followed the recipe exactly and prepared it ahead of time. Any recipe I can prepare in advance gets a high rating from me. Everyone raved about it. It looks so nice and tastes wonderful. Not a smidgen left when dinner was done. Thanks for a great recipe Ariela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States