Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent. I had unexpected guests and made a quick meal. This was the vegetable. Everyone raved. Super easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I was underwhelmed; however everyone else ate and enjoyed (or my "I hate cauliflower" folk tolerated, lol); I will certainly make again - it's a nice change on a typically unexciting veggie. I want to play around with it a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
eh, i was expecting something better. from all the good reviews, idk what i was expecting really but it wasn't that great. kind'a flavorless for me. i mean, i like cauliflower and i eat it steamed all the time, but this made me feel like it should taste like something well seasoned yet it wasn't there. i only did half a head and i'm glad of it. perhaps if i would have used the other's tips and steamed it in broth(which i've never done, should have tried it here though) it would have had that extra kick of flavor i needed. i even added extra cheese on top to give it more flavor. still, it wasn't even close. i rather have it plain. still, 3 stars 'cause i liked the idea of putting a sort of topping/crust on steamed veggies. i just need something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made a few changes, and really liked this recipe. I did steam the cauliflower whole for 20 minutes, as it was quite large. Afterward, once it had cooled down a little I broke it into pieces and discarded the core. I put the florets in a large bowl and mixed in enough olive oil to coat the pieces, about 1 Tb oregano, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, also adding about 1 Tb dried onion flakes; it really needed more spices! I added the breadcrumbs and cheese and spread it out in a baking dish, covering the top with shredded mozzarella. I baked it at 375 for probably 20 minutes until the cheese started to brown. So I took out the butter, but added more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Holy moly! This is fabulous. I grew up on fried cauliflower and the taste is so similar! I steamed whole for 20 minutes and then brushed with butter...sprinkled on the bread crumbs and baked as stated. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
good but needs more cheese and the bread crumbs didnt really hold to the cauliflower maybe that just was do to under cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very neat, I made my own homemade bread crumsb in our food proccesor. It made them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I probably shouldn't be rating this particular recipe because i changed it .. but here are some suggestions.. mine came out fantastic. cut the cauliflower into floweretts, steam until 3/4 way done.. drizzle with evoo.. in seperate bowl mix panko bread crumbs, fresh parmesan cheese, and just a few tblspns of canned parm cheese.. toss with cauliflower and bake for 20 miinutes on 375 or until golden brown.. absolutely fantastic.. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wow, this was great. Took another's suggestion and cut into smaller pieces & steamed with 1/4 chicken broth. Put in ziplock & dredged with olive oil then put in the dry mixture & baked for 20 - 30 minutes. It was FABULOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I swayed just a tad from making this recipe as written. I was after a healthier version of fried cauliflower that I love so much and won't make because of the fat content. I mixed all the dry ingredients in a small bowl. I cut my cauliflower into bite size pieces and cooked for about 4 minutes until tender crisp. I then put the cauliflower in a Ziploc bag and added olive oil and tossed to coat. I added the dry ingredients to the bag and coated all the cauliflower. Baked until crispy, which took about 20-30 minutes. It was a very good alternative to the fried cauliflower. I will adjust the seasonings to my taste the next time. I did add more parmesan cheese to the top of the finished product (Yum). All in all this is a very easy and tasty way to make cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States