Baked Tuna 'Crab' Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were the best tuna cake I ever had. I followed the recipe to the letter and added the cilantro-lime mayo like another reviewer. They were very good, my wife who is not a big tuna fan even went back for seconds. The next day we made sandwiches with the leftovers and they were great. --dmevans4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmevans4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I did not like this recipe at all I followed the directions exactly as stated and the flavor was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
While I was having some trouble with the consistency of the batter as I was trying to make the patties (the only reason this is not 5 stars), this was delicious. I keep Kosher and don't eat shellfish (which is the only thing I miss but not enough to break), so this was very happy to my tastebuds. My boyfriend gave his thumbs-up approval to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were absolutely the best tasting fish cakes I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly but used 2 teaspoons of jalapeno pepper for added flavour. The heat was not noticable. I made 12 patties out of the recipe which meant each patty was 153cals. Moist and delicious with great texture. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were a nice change to the way we usually have tuna and I liked the fact that they were a tweak to the usual crab cake. My modifications were to use bread crumbs; both plain and some with Italian seasonings and I didn't have bell pepper so I used chopped celery instead. I also left out the cottage cheese. I also browned them on a griddle sprayed with Pam/Olive oil and only used bread crumbs to coat then additional Pam spray to keep them moist while baking. My total bake time was close to 30 minutes and they turned out nice and brown but still moist on the inside. This recipe is very versitle and easy to lighten up if you need that option. Sauces are easy to add, we liked the chipotle cheddar and of course my husband used ketchup and crackers. Great appetizer or mid day meal. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I really like this recipe--it is super flexible and very forgiving! I use panko crumbs, exclude the jalapeno (husband not a fan), use regular cottage cheese and sour cream, substitute lemon juice for lime, and when I didn't have a zucchini I used frozen spinach. I use a couple of big spoons to form the patties and then flatten them a bit on the baking sheet and skip the cornmeal. They make a tasty and easy meal, with plenty left over for lunch the next day. I like to mix a little sour cream with curry powder as a sauce for mine; my husband likes his with ketchup. Ketchup?!? Ketchup. But that's part of the flexibility I like with this recipe--satisfies both of our tastes with no extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Delicious!!! I never review anything if I have tweaked it as THAT is not an accurate review to what is posted. I didn't change anything and they were very yummy. As a side note: I gave it four stars because I will tweak it next time. I will probably do bread crumbs or panko instead of cornmeal and maybe throw in some Dijon. And something for crunch inside. But they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These are real tasty. I couldn't figure out the perfect sauce pairing though. And I did have a problem with getting the outside crisp. By other reviewers suggestions, I tried browning them in a pan before going in the oven but the cornmeal seemed to make to thick of a crust. Perhaps using panko or regular breadcrumbs instead of cornmeal will give it that thin crispness it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
not a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were delicious. I had grilled the veggies called for the night before w/ the exception of the green onions. I rough chopped those veggies and then put them in my small food processor. I used panko vs bread crumbs for both the filling and for dipping. I was surprised how good the lime was in this. I made huge patties which turned out crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. I made a mayo, sour cream and lime sauce w/ fresh chives, parsley and cilantro. Also added kosher salt and fresh pepper and just a tiny bit of basil. My family loved this sauce along w/ the tuna cakes. I did have to cook mine about 20 minutes longer then stated but as I said they were huge. No left-overs....Darn. lol. Enjoy and make your own sauce with these. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States