Baked Tuna 'Crab' Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I LOVE these tuna cakes!! We have made them at least 5 times and every time they come out perfect. I didn't have cornmeal so I used seasoned bread crumbs, added more garlic & used frozen shredded zucchini from the summer crop. When using frozen zucchini I used 2 cups - it thaws & juices seep out reducing down to 1 C. Don't let the jalapenos scare you off. My kids didn't know they were in there and asked for thirds. The recipe makes enough for us to eat two meals & great for leftovers. I'm going to try and sub out salmon next time for the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
A mighty, mighty thank ye for this a here recipe! Yummmmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Cheap and it makes a ton of yummy food. The spicy pepper gives these tuna cakes a subtle kick. I didn't use sour cream and the dish still turned out great. I baked them a little longer because I like crispy things, nice and soft in the inside though. Enjoy with with hot sauce on the top! We're excited to eat the left-overs. :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were delicious. I had grilled the veggies called for the night before w/ the exception of the green onions. I rough chopped those veggies and then put them in my small food processor. I used panko vs bread crumbs for both the filling and for dipping. I was surprised how good the lime was in this. I made huge patties which turned out crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. I made a mayo, sour cream and lime sauce w/ fresh chives, parsley and cilantro. Also added kosher salt and fresh pepper and just a tiny bit of basil. My family loved this sauce along w/ the tuna cakes. I did have to cook mine about 20 minutes longer then stated but as I said they were huge. No left-overs....Darn. lol. Enjoy and make your own sauce with these. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were a nice change to the way we usually have tuna and I liked the fact that they were a tweak to the usual crab cake. My modifications were to use bread crumbs; both plain and some with Italian seasonings and I didn't have bell pepper so I used chopped celery instead. I also left out the cottage cheese. I also browned them on a griddle sprayed with Pam/Olive oil and only used bread crumbs to coat then additional Pam spray to keep them moist while baking. My total bake time was close to 30 minutes and they turned out nice and brown but still moist on the inside. This recipe is very versitle and easy to lighten up if you need that option. Sauces are easy to add, we liked the chipotle cheddar and of course my husband used ketchup and crackers. Great appetizer or mid day meal. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
use more bread crumb and add parmasean. more olive oil, possibly brown in a pan before baking because outside of cakes tend to dry out. FIND A GOOD SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yummy, my hubby couldn't get enough! Used saltines instead of breadcrumbs, shake-n-bake/corn meal mix for crust, and fat free yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is perfect as written and is my favorite recipe by far for anything tuna. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were absolutely the best tasting fish cakes I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly but used 2 teaspoons of jalapeno pepper for added flavour. The heat was not noticable. I made 12 patties out of the recipe which meant each patty was 153cals. Moist and delicious with great texture. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
While I was having some trouble with the consistency of the batter as I was trying to make the patties (the only reason this is not 5 stars), this was delicious. I keep Kosher and don't eat shellfish (which is the only thing I miss but not enough to break), so this was very happy to my tastebuds. My boyfriend gave his thumbs-up approval to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States