Baked Tuna 'Crab' Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were delicious. I had grilled the veggies called for the night before w/ the exception of the green onions. I rough chopped those veggies and then put them in my small food processor. I used panko vs bread crumbs for both the filling and for dipping. I was surprised how good the lime was in this. I made huge patties which turned out crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. I made a mayo, sour cream and lime sauce w/ fresh chives, parsley and cilantro. Also added kosher salt and fresh pepper and just a tiny bit of basil. My family loved this sauce along w/ the tuna cakes. I did have to cook mine about 20 minutes longer then stated but as I said they were huge. No left-overs....Darn. lol. Enjoy and make your own sauce with these. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yummy, my hubby couldn't get enough! Used saltines instead of breadcrumbs, shake-n-bake/corn meal mix for crust, and fat free yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
use more bread crumb and add parmasean. more olive oil, possibly brown in a pan before baking because outside of cakes tend to dry out. FIND A GOOD SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was the first thing I've ever made that my husband refused to eat. They were really dry and not appetizing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This might actually be a 5 star recipe but I did not have several of the ingredients on hand. The tuna cakes turned out to be very delicous even though I didn't include the green onions, jalapeno peppers, cottage cheese, sour cream, lime juice or cornmeal. I did add about 3 tsps of lemonade and 1 shredded carrot. I was worried that they would turn out dry because of the missing ingredients but that wasn't the case at all! I had to bake them slightly longer, added about 10 mins to the bake time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schooley Jensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is perfect as written and is my favorite recipe by far for anything tuna. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Pretty good... I chose this recipe because it wasn't fried and is low in fat. I thought they were really good and tasted a little like crab cakes. They were good with cocktail sauce. I also added Old Bay and a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Cheap and it makes a ton of yummy food. The spicy pepper gives these tuna cakes a subtle kick. I didn't use sour cream and the dish still turned out great. I baked them a little longer because I like crispy things, nice and soft in the inside though. Enjoy with with hot sauce on the top! We're excited to eat the left-overs. :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
A mighty, mighty thank ye for this a here recipe! Yummmmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I LOVE these tuna cakes!! We have made them at least 5 times and every time they come out perfect. I didn't have cornmeal so I used seasoned bread crumbs, added more garlic & used frozen shredded zucchini from the summer crop. When using frozen zucchini I used 2 cups - it thaws & juices seep out reducing down to 1 C. Don't let the jalapenos scare you off. My kids didn't know they were in there and asked for thirds. The recipe makes enough for us to eat two meals & great for leftovers. I'm going to try and sub out salmon next time for the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States