Baked Trout Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this for dinner for 4 last night. My guests loved the taste. Some of the reviews suggested decreasing the sour cream. I found the consistency too wet, and it did not end up looking like the fillets in the photo. It smelled really good while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My new favorite way to cook trout! I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream (It tastes EXACTLY the same for cooking purposes with WAY less fat an calories.) Also minced some garlic and carmelized it a bit before adding it into the sauce...our household LOVES garlic and it was a nice compliment to the other flavors. And I agree, you don't need nearly this much sauce for 1 pound of trout. I make it with about 1/3 of the Greek yogurt (sour cream in the recipe) but leave all the seasonings the same. Such a great way to incorporate more fish into your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a great thick sauce. Though I agree with others that there is too much of it, it is easy to prepare and my family loved it -including two picky "non-onion eating children." (or so they think!) I used half low cal sour cream and half mayo as previous reviewers recommended - a very good call for that rich flavor. We've made this recipe with trout and tilapia. I recommend the trout, but not the tilapia. We will probably try it on Salmon next. My BF LOVED the sauce so much he wants to put it on everything - vegetables, bread, whatever! Highly recommend. Fast and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Comiskey-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made it just like the recipe said and would not change a thing. Loved it Moist and tender as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We have a new favorite!! I did add some mayo after reading other comments. It was SO delicious!! I will definitely be making this again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this for rainbow trout. Used 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup miracle whip and the same amounts for the rest of the ingredients. There was still more than half left when I was finished coating the fish. I sprinkled bread crumbs on top. I thought it was pretty good and I might use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I didn't have sour cream, so I substituted 1 cup cottage cheese + 1 T lemon juice + 2 T milk and blended in a blender -- very smooth & creamy! Next time, I may try adding a little dill to the mixture...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay & Carol Georgi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
awesome!!! i did use mayo and sour cream mixed together. New family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is a good recipe... I swapped half the sour cream for mayo based on previous reviews and i thought the sauce was delicious. And my husband ate all his fish and half of mine! My only complaint really is that i couldn't taste the fish at all - and it was a nice cut of fresh fish. i think i would make this again but use a cheaper fish - maybe those frozen fillets you get in bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great flavor and overall a great recipe. I made a couple of changes. I used Fat-free sour cream. I also roasted two mild chili peppers and one small jalepeno pepper from my garden and mixed it in with the topping. Gave it a little kick but not enough to overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States