Baked Trout Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this for dinner for 4 last night. My guests loved the taste. Some of the reviews suggested decreasing the sour cream. I found the consistency too wet, and it did not end up looking like the fillets in the photo. It smelled really good while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My new favorite way to cook trout! I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream (It tastes EXACTLY the same for cooking purposes with WAY less fat an calories.) Also minced some garlic and carmelized it a bit before adding it into the sauce...our household LOVES garlic and it was a nice compliment to the other flavors. And I agree, you don't need nearly this much sauce for 1 pound of trout. I make it with about 1/3 of the Greek yogurt (sour cream in the recipe) but leave all the seasonings the same. Such a great way to incorporate more fish into your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a great thick sauce. Though I agree with others that there is too much of it, it is easy to prepare and my family loved it -including two picky "non-onion eating children." (or so they think!) I used half low cal sour cream and half mayo as previous reviewers recommended - a very good call for that rich flavor. We've made this recipe with trout and tilapia. I recommend the trout, but not the tilapia. We will probably try it on Salmon next. My BF LOVED the sauce so much he wants to put it on everything - vegetables, bread, whatever! Highly recommend. Fast and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Comiskey-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made it just like the recipe said and would not change a thing. Loved it Moist and tender as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Brown

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We have a new favorite!! I did add some mayo after reading other comments. It was SO delicious!! I will definitely be making this again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this for rainbow trout. Used 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup miracle whip and the same amounts for the rest of the ingredients. There was still more than half left when I was finished coating the fish. I sprinkled bread crumbs on top. I thought it was pretty good and I might use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I didn't have sour cream, so I substituted 1 cup cottage cheese + 1 T lemon juice + 2 T milk and blended in a blender -- very smooth & creamy! Next time, I may try adding a little dill to the mixture...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay & Carol Georgi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
awesome!!! i did use mayo and sour cream mixed together. New family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is a good recipe... I swapped half the sour cream for mayo based on previous reviews and i thought the sauce was delicious. And my husband ate all his fish and half of mine! My only complaint really is that i couldn't taste the fish at all - and it was a nice cut of fresh fish. i think i would make this again but use a cheaper fish - maybe those frozen fillets you get in bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great flavor and overall a great recipe. I made a couple of changes. I used Fat-free sour cream. I also roasted two mild chili peppers and one small jalepeno pepper from my garden and mixed it in with the topping. Gave it a little kick but not enough to overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States