Baked Trout Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I wouldn't have liked it nearly as well without subbing half mayo like many reviewers suggested, so that's why four stars instead of five. I've tried a similar recipe with all sour cream and just didn't like it, kind of weird texture and not very toothsome. This was close to another recipe on this site for fish that I love, so I changed a couple of things to take what I liked best from the other one. I added a tsp of dill to the topping and rubbed the trout with lemon before topping it. I did not add the onions to the topping, but put a couple of tsp of melted butter in the bottom of the baking pan, tossed some thin slices of onions in the butter and put them in the oven stirring occasionally until they started to turn transparent. Then I set the skin side of the trout face down on the onions and topped them from there. You get the onion flavor through the fish, if you like onions you get some really delicious onions to put on top of your fish at the end, if you don't like onion you can leave them in the bottom of the dish. Side benefit; they keep the skin from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
my husband love this recipe.. i just added 1/2 of cup of mayo and it taste really good.. thank you thank you.. ill definitely make this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm surprised that this recipe has 4 1/2 stars. I thought it was pretty terrible. I'm sorry I wasted beautiful fillets of trout on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this dish last night with one fresh fillet and it was outstanding. Instead of sour cream I used tzatiki sauce, which cut the fat and was very flavorful. I used about one tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was excellent. I followed several suggestions and replaced half the sour cream (I used fat free) with mayo. I also reduced the quantity of the ingredients quite a bit as it made way too much to top the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was SO delicious!! I make a sauce similar to this, but with light mayo/butter instead of sour cream. This turned out even better! I did follow suggestions and used a little miracle whip in place of part of the sour cream. It was a hit with the whole family, even the kids. We had no left-overs! (Also, we used a red trout and it was very similar to salmon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Fantastic!! I substituted 1/2 cup Fage yogurt (Greek style - 0 fat) and it was like eating dessert! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The base for the sauce sounded excellent, but I made a few changes to suit our taste. I think that one cup of sour cream is too much for 1 pound of fish, and as others have suggested, substituting mayo for some of the sour cream is a good idea. Cilantro mini-cubes are relatively new in the market. They add a great flavor flavor to this dish and have a smoother texture than fresh cilantro. I prefer onion powder in the sauce for the same reason - it keeps the sauce smooth. Emeril's Essence is available in most supermarkets, or you can find a recipe on the Internet and make your own. Here is my version. I hope that you enjoy it if you try it. 1 pound trout fillet 1 tablespoon olive oil Creole seasoning (suggested Emeril’s Essence) -----Sauce 1/8 cup light mayonnaise 1/8 cup light sour cream 1/8 cup grated Parmesan cheese 1 cube cilantro mini-cube (suggested Knorr) Juice of ½ lemon ½ teaspoon onion powder Dash of salt and freshly ground black pepper -----Garnish Paprika Capers Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Season the fish with Creole seasoning. Spread olive oil in bottom of a glass baking dish and add fish. Combine all sauce ingredients in a small bowl. Spread over fish. Sprinkle paprika over sauce. Bake 20 to 30 minutes until fish flakes. Sprinkle with capers and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
So good! I had salmon on hand and I used the half mayo half sour cream version and it was amazing. I will definately use this when we need a great dish for serving to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
used one pound of steelhead trout fillet--- outstanding recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States