Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent! We tried dipping in oil when we didn't have a sprayer, not so good. Spraying is definitely necessary! We prefer these chips to the ones from the store, by far, and they're cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danieleWrites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
followed recipe as written. brushed both sides, stacked, and cut into 1/8s. 7 minutes and 8 minutes just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made these for a party and they were good. Didn't have the lime juice, but really look forward to adding that next time. Used olive oil. We don't use a lot of salt in our family, but I did feel the spice mix could have use a little more salt. I was doing a lot of tortillas and ran out of the spice, so the last couple batches had season salt, which was nice too if you are in a hurry or find yourself missing spices. Would be fun to mix it up if you wanted to make them to go with an artichoke dip - try Italian seasonings and some Parmesan cheese! Maybe some middle eastern spices for Hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I used the large flour tortillas (dinner plate size) and cut into eighths, then cut each eighth into fourths. Each large tortilla will make 32 chips. The chips are smaller and easier for little hands to pick up. I then placed chips on a baking stone (to prevent burning), sprayed each chip with some plain cooking spray (you could use butter or garlic flavor also), and sprinkled each with a little sea salt. I baked them at 7 minutes then rotated the stone 1/2 turn (or turn stone a full 180 degrees for even baking) and cooked them for another 6 minutes. I then removed the stone carefully from the oven with oven mitts or pads (it will be extremely hot to the touch) and then removed them from the stone with an upside down metal spatula (I do this to help prevent sticking to the stone) and placed them on a large cool metal baking tray to cool. They turned out fantastic. They can be eaten alone (kids love them), with dips or made into nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
A baking spray (such as Pam with canola oil) works just as well as basting with the oil/lime juice mixture. I baked for 7 minutes, rotated the cookie sheet, and baked for 5 minutes more. The chips were crisp, golden brown, and delicious! My husband loves these and they are always a hit at any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
really easy, super tasty. I have used this recipe on flavored flour tortillas and they come out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
We like them, I did not use oil. I sprayed them with non-stick cooking spray and then sprinkled the rest of the dry spices on, rubbed the spices around to evenly coat and then squirted them with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Can make with just salt and cooking spray, or cinnamon and sugar with cooking spray. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbarbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
The first time I made these, they came out a bit too brown. But my second time around, they were perfect! I did bake them @ 350 for 7MINS, then flip them so they can bake evenly, and baked them for 6MINS. Maybe it's my oven, but 8MINS makes them too brown & too crispy. I used 15 yellow corn tortillas for 2 people. As another reviewer, I brushed olive oil or veggie oil on each whole tortilla & sprinkled the spices over each....THEN I cut them into triangles. It was much easier this way. Good recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used whole wheat tortillas and mixed the seasoning with the oil and juice and brushed on the mixture. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States