Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are fabulous. I had 18 corn tortillas and I cut them into strips. I used a spray olive oil as I had no mister and sprinkled with a little bit of salt. I am going to use them with the Vegetarian Tortilla Soup from this site. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These have a great flavor. I had a hard time getting them cooked just right, I kept pulling them out and thinking they were done, but they were still chewy. I had to cook a bit longer than 15 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Where has this recipe been? I loathe the store bought tortilla chips - waaaay too salty for my taste (I prefer sweets than salty snacks). I used W/W flour tortillas, Olive oil (better for you) in place of Vegetabel Oil and used a home-made Taco Seasoning Mix in place of just the cumin/chili powder - baked for about 6 minutes a side (brushed the oil/lime juice on with a pastry brush as I do not have a mister) and they turned out wonderful! I only made a small batch (using 3 six inch torillas) and that with a small batch of home-made guacamole was hoovered up in no time (all for ME!) I was not sharing... :) Thanks for making this recipe possible Michele - it's a great alternative for the high sodium store bought ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great Chips! I will definitely make again! I baked them for 7 minutes on each side and only put the oil and spices on one side. Very great alternative to regular chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These were great! I used flour tortillas instead of corn and I used a pizza roller to cut out the wedges. I also used olive oil instead of veg oil and applied it with a pastry brush. I didn't have lime juice to use and it still came out great. I followed the ingredients for spices/proportions exact, as well as the baking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
i tried this, but ive also made a more simple version using just extra virgin olive oil and kosher salt which much easier and cheaper, and also taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
From reading the reviews, it seemed that the chips took varying times to complete so I tested two chips for a few rounds and found that about 6.5 minutes was enough for the tortillas that I had. I decided to just put olive oil on them rather than misting as I didn't have a mister. Also, I didn't wait until they looked brown because by the time I got them out of the oven and off the pan, they would be too cooked and taste a little burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very delicious, may need to add a bit more salt once cooled off, and finished cooking. Make sure NOT to over cook! :) Great for a quick easy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Marker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Fan-FREAKING-tastic and super easy. Fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
We used tortillas from another homemade tortilla recipe (whole wheat flour tortillas) and didn't have cumin on hand. Instead, we used olive oil (dipped it into it, spray-on would probably be better), cayenne pepper and salt. DEFINITELY need to watch the time on this one, because you don't need to put it in for 15 minutes like one poster said. I would say 7 minutes, perhaps 3 on one side and 4 on another. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States