Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I've been making flavored baked chips for a while now -- it's a great way to use up those torn and ripped tortillas while controlling sodium intake. But the addition of lime juice ... *smack*.... why didn't I think of that?? Actually, I had the good fortune of having a trial-sized packet of powdered lime concentrate hanging around in the cabinet, so I simply mixed that in with the dry spices. Deliciously tart, crunchy and spicy -- thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Better than any chips I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made them with flour tortilla's because the store was out of corn. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are fabulous. I had 18 corn tortillas and I cut them into strips. I used a spray olive oil as I had no mister and sprinkled with a little bit of salt. I am going to use them with the Vegetarian Tortilla Soup from this site. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These have a great flavor. I had a hard time getting them cooked just right, I kept pulling them out and thinking they were done, but they were still chewy. I had to cook a bit longer than 15 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Where has this recipe been? I loathe the store bought tortilla chips - waaaay too salty for my taste (I prefer sweets than salty snacks). I used W/W flour tortillas, Olive oil (better for you) in place of Vegetabel Oil and used a home-made Taco Seasoning Mix in place of just the cumin/chili powder - baked for about 6 minutes a side (brushed the oil/lime juice on with a pastry brush as I do not have a mister) and they turned out wonderful! I only made a small batch (using 3 six inch torillas) and that with a small batch of home-made guacamole was hoovered up in no time (all for ME!) I was not sharing... :) Thanks for making this recipe possible Michele - it's a great alternative for the high sodium store bought ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great Chips! I will definitely make again! I baked them for 7 minutes on each side and only put the oil and spices on one side. Very great alternative to regular chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These were great! I used flour tortillas instead of corn and I used a pizza roller to cut out the wedges. I also used olive oil instead of veg oil and applied it with a pastry brush. I didn't have lime juice to use and it still came out great. I followed the ingredients for spices/proportions exact, as well as the baking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
i tried this, but ive also made a more simple version using just extra virgin olive oil and kosher salt which much easier and cheaper, and also taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
From reading the reviews, it seemed that the chips took varying times to complete so I tested two chips for a few rounds and found that about 6.5 minutes was enough for the tortillas that I had. I decided to just put olive oil on them rather than misting as I didn't have a mister. Also, I didn't wait until they looked brown because by the time I got them out of the oven and off the pan, they would be too cooked and taste a little burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States