Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I had to make a change or two because of my pantry, and while they are good, they crisp up too fast. If you don't watch them carefully, they come out burned. I have 2 dogs to wrangle and other dishes to make, so I can't spend the time watching them bake. But they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Summers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
The concept is uber versatile! Doesn't have to be savory! Can use vegetable oil, a squeeze of liquid splenda, & cinnamon to make a sweet chip. The one thing I've found that might be useful is to spray & season BEFORE you cut the tortillas into wedges. Then stack them up 4 or 5 deep, then cut them up. You get your chips seasoned more evenly & end up with less stray spray or seasoning wasted. Doing it this way saved me loads of time. A pizza cutter is perfect for slicing tortillas into wedges quickly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
so simple and so much better than store bought! You can do ANYTHING with this ... spray olive oil and coat with salt, pepper, onion powder - you name it! Or sweeten it up :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
FYI. Combine everything in a bowl and stir to mix. Brush on the tortillas, then cut with a pizza cutter and bake. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
While the flavor of these was good, the texture wasn't right - too chewy. I wonder if maybe I put too much juice on them, because I just squeezed it on rather than putting it in a "mister," which I don't have. Would not probably try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Addictive! I used flour tortillas and baked for a few minutes less since they were getting dark. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I don't know why I waited so long to try this recipe. In this house, we prefer flour tortillas to corn tortillas, so that's what I used. Watch your time baking, mine were done (some a little too brown) at 11 minutes. There's a short window between getting them crisp (not soggy), but not burnt. I always have flour tortillas in the house, so I'll probably just keep a small spray bottle of the oil-lime juice mixture on hand, as I think I'll be making these chips often. These tortilla chips are just so much better than what you buy at the supermarket in a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
First batch burnt at the time and temp indicated. Changed temp to 325f and 10 mins total baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I didn't season the chips before baking them. I sprayed both sides of the chips with non-stick cooking spray and I cut the second cooking time to 3 minutes. If I left them in any longer, they would've burned. Also, I just seasoned them with salt while they were hot since I was going to eat them with salsa. They turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice O'Neal
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Incredibly easy recipe for savory chips. I have also made tortilla chips, using melted butter and then sugar-cinnamon for a sweet treat. Here is a TIP: Handling all those wedges is so time-consuming. Try brushing the wet mixture over the tortillas with a pastry brush BEFORE cutting into wedges --- so much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States