Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Wow - this was great! I used Tamari instead of Soy Sauce, and I used garlic salt instead of garlic powder (it's all I had). I only needed to bake it for about 5 more minutes after flipping them over. And after they were done baking, I tossed them in a bowl with the left over marinade. So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful and I followed it *almost* to the T. The only changes I made are that I left out the liquid smoke, because I didn't have any, I baked it for 40 minutes instead of 30, and used reduced sodium soy sauce instead of regular. That being said, I found the dish to be VERY salty. Next time I make it (there will be a next time) I will use only 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Also, be sure that you dry your tofu very well before you soak it in the marinade. (I went through several kitchen towels) Also, if time allows, let your marinade soak a little longer. It will still taste great if you cannot, but the flavors will intensify, even if it sits for only 15 minutes or so. Give it a try, you'll be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
With tofu baking it really is your best bet. Well done cubes are awesome as a snack food. I like to make oriental food with vegetables only, then offer a choice of prepared-ahead meats (ie: deep fried pork, cubed broiled chicken, plain boiled shrimp) and then these tofu cubes. Season them like you would curly fries or
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Delish! Made a couple of minor changes - I used honey instead of maple syrup since it's less expensive. Also, I used several generous sloshes of hot sauce, plus a couple sprinkles of hot sauce with chipotles (to replace the liquid smoke), about 2 tsp of garlic powder, and a few shakes of paprika and cayenne (we keep it spicy around here!). Marinated for about a half hour. Baked it for 20 minutes on 375, flipped the pieces, but then BROILED it for the second 20 minutes, in order to make it a little crispy on top. Yummy, and fiance raved about it. Will definitely be making again! Thanks, Vicky9999!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I didn't use the liquid smoke due to the reviews. It tastes good, both hot and cold, that I could see using them in various ways. It is a good introduction to anyone who hasn't eaten the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were ok. Decent flavor. To get all the water out of the tofu, I put it on a plate with layers of paper towels above and below the tofu. I then place another plate on top, with a 28-oz can from my pantry set on top to weigh it down. I usually set it in the frig overnight for maximum drainage, and change out the paper towels as they soak up the water. Anyway, the tofu bites were good, but not great. I think just soaking them in BBQ sauce would achieve the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Taste was really good, but the consistency was too soft / mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I make this at least twice a month. My bf swore he wouldn't like tofu but he actually requests this! I always double the sauce so that there's extra for the rice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
By far the BEST tofu recipe. I could never get used to tofu taste, but this is is flavorful. I didn't have the sesame seeds, but I followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLishas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Yum!!! Ate these warm and cold...taste amazing either way! I marinated them for about 6 hours and am blown away at how awesome these taste - a definite regular for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States