Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The recipe turned out great. I added a little sesame oil to the marinade, left out the hot sauce, and added half of the ketchup. I was afraid it would taste more BBQ flavor than Asian. I baked for almost an hour and tossed them with fried rice. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very Tasty! All the meat lovers in my house even enjoyed this tofu recipe. The smoke flavouring really does something for it. Only thing is I marinaded the tofu for about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Okay- sauce was a little funky. I wish I could describe what these tasted like, but can't. Not the worst, not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
did not like the flavor of these. Plus they were a huge mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe sounded great and after reading some reviews I decided to use honey and a dash of ginger rather than maple syrup, and I think that was a bad idea. I think the syrup would have lended a flavor and sweetness that was lost on the honey. Leaving it out made this dish too salty and bland for me. I ended up using a little syrup to dip the bites in, which helped a little. I might try this again but will cut down on the soy sauce and add more maple syrup than called for. Otherwise, this cooked up well and had a nice chewy texure on the outside which I liked. Also, to get the moisture out of my tofu I used the method of putting the whole block in a colander with a small dish on top and a heavy object to weigh it down, for about 15mins. This worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this was tasty, but i think it could also use some tinkering according to individual taste. honey, ginger, toasted sesame seeds, orange juice -- all could be incorporated here in various combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I was really surprised because I found these kind of bland as far as "kick" goes but overly salty. I normally just toss the tofu in some BBQ sauce of some variety and some honey and drizzle extra honey on top in between flips in the oven. Considering that is so simple I wanted to try something new. This recipe sounded great but I really did not care for the flavor. I will experiment with the ingredients as I always do and see if I can come up with a variation that I prefer more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These were just OK in my opinion. I would much rather make tofu jerky as a snack or dry pan fry tofu then add it to a any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I used low sodium soy sauce and still found this recipe to be WAAAAAAAY too salty......also....the cooking time should be adjusted....or watched very carefully. The sugar in the maple syrup over carmelized and almost tasted burnt! Wasn't inedible but I probably won't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Love this recipe! I have done it with and without the liquid smoke depending on my mood. This recipe is in my regular recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States