Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Quick and convenient, nice flavor. We included these in a rice bowl with stir-fried vegetables. I found it neither too salty nor too sweet, I used a lower-sodium soy sauce and a natural ketchup that is low-sugar so perhaps that made a difference. I used black sesame seeds and, because I was a bit nervous about the liquid smoke after reading the reviews, only half a tsp. I didn't find the smokey taste overpowering at all and wouldn't hesitate to try the full amount next time. I marinated for 15 minutes and baked these on the middle rack of the oven which I think helped with browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Great recipe always turns out perfect I made it so many times Great way to eat tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was great! I followed the recipe but didn't add the liquid smoke as others suggested. A perfect amount of saltiness and sweetness. I gently squeezed firm tofu with paper towel, and then wrapped it with a few layers before placing in the fridge for a couple of hours. Next time I may make extra sauce with some corn starch as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was a very good recipe. I omitted liquid smoke like many others. I didn't have maple syrup so I substituted 1 tablespoon each of honey and molasses. I also marinated an hour+. This recipe was quick and easy so I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Yum! I had a hard time keeping the tofu together, but the final product was a great mixture of sweet and savory. The softness and the crispy outside was also a great touch. I didn't have any liquid smoke and I don't like sesame seeds so I did without both and it turned out great! I'll be making these tofu bites again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I didn't think these were great. Mine ended up soggy and the flavor wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Baked Tofu Bites Haiku: "Ohhhh dude, this is YUM. Pressed the liquid for longer. (No sesame seeds.)" Didn't have sesame seeds, so used 1/2 tsp. sesame oil; I know it's not a proper substitution, but it's such a strong flavor that I figured it'd jive well w/ the soy sauce. I put my tofu (prior to cutting into 1/2" cubes) on a paper-towel lined plate, put another paper towel on top, followed by a plate, then a couple of canned goods to press out more liquid; left there for about 30 min. Maybe the tofu being "drier" let the marinate stick better, but irregardless, I marinated it for 2 hrs., then followed the baking instructions, but left in an extra 10-15 min. Tasted awesome over a salad, and the leftovers the next day were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this tonight and it was pretty yummy. I did not have maple syrup so I used 1 tbsp of molasses and 1 tbsp of honey. Definitely one of the easiest tofu recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Love love love the taste! It makes a nice light dinner with steamed broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It turned out great! thanks for sharing. I used honey instead of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States